We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Location in the Center of DC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
Ranked #64 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in April. We found the hotel to be located in a very quiet area which means there are limited restaurants/coffee shops nearby. The pizza place next door is good in a pinch and they also have gelato if you want something sweet. The hotel has a small convenience type store where you can get some supplies for the room if need be.

The hotel is a five minute walk to the mall and a five minute walk to the metro station. The breakfast buffet in the morning is super busy but they have a variety of foods and it was a great way to start the day. We found a supermarket about a 10 minute walk away.

The rooms were spacious and clean and the pool and gym downstairs were also nice and comfortable. The staff were helpful, could call a cab or car for us to get to places and had lots of restaurant recommendations.

The hotel is really a great value and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a office area so it is relatively quiet no matter where you are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,077)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

642 - 648 of 1,077 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

We visited this hotel over spring vacation, and we were not disappointed. The hotel is about a 5 min walk to the mall which made it vey convenient for touring the Capitol and museums.
The rooms were spacious and clean. The beds were comfortable. We were in a corner room on the 7th floor overlooking the train tracks, yet the room was nice and quiet. We hardly heard the train pass by. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast in the morning was crowded because of school break, but they made room by opening up the adjoining banquet room, and they worked hard to promptly clean and clear the tables. They served fruit, yogurt, eggs, sausages/ham, muffins and make your own waffles. It was more than adequate. We had dinner there one evening- pulled pork sandwiches with coleslaw and sweet corn- which was very good.
One word of advice if you are touring- wear good shoes. We must have walked 20 miles over the course of our three day visit. Even though I consider us a very active family, we were all exhausted upon returning to the hotel. When planning the trip, we debated taking a (free) walking tour but decided on a bike tour instead on day 3- the best decision of the trip! The tour was fun and informative, and most of all, we did not have to walk- definitely worth the price!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Licorice1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We picked this hotel because it was within walking distance of the Mall and could accommodate our big family. The hotel certainly filled its promise. The room and the bathroom were clean, and there even was a kitchenette. There also is a supermarket within walking distance. Sightseeing was made easy by the location. Staff were nice and helpful. No complains about this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheetah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed at the Residence Inn Washington DC Capitol in April 2013. Though not the most conveniently located for my particular business purposes (around Pennsylvania Avenue) this slight inconvenience was more than made up for (1) by the very helpful & professional front desk staff on all four days in DC; (2) the courtesy of the catering staff at breakfast; and (3) the pleasure of walking back to the hotel down the Mall in the beautiful DC evening sunshine under the cherry blossom! I will stay at the the Residence Inn Washington DC Capitol again.
Conor Maguire

Room Tip: Using previous travellers' tips, I requested and was allocated a room facing away from the rail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Concubhar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

When planning a visit to Washington, D.C., our traveling companion researched several hotels and decided upon the Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol. Even though our companions could not make the trip due to a medical emergency, we packed our bags and arrived on the evening of April 19, 2013. After checking in and going up to our room we found that the toilet was making awful noises and so advised the front desk who sent someone up immediately to address (and fix) the problem. When we asked for extra blankets they arrived within five minutes.

A hotel that offers a breakfast buffet is always high on our list of choices and this hotel did not disappoint. Eggs, sausage, potatoes, yogurt, apples, bananas (a bit green on some days), several choices of breads/bagels, muffins and Belgian waffles were all available as well as some very good coffee (and milk and juice, too). The staff who clean up the dining area were very courteous and conscientious, keeping the tables clean and removing dirty plates so we could return for whatever second helpings we wanted.

The hotel also offers a "social hour" on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday evenings.

The staff was incredibly helpful, but we really have to give five (or ten, if possible) stars to the concierge, Sean Kullavanijaya. Every hotel should have a Sean. Never having visited Washington, D.C. before we asked Sean for some recommendations of things to do. Not only did he offer great suggestions, he suggested that we do things in a certain order so as to maximize our Washington experience. He can even print upside down on a map when giving directions! We left Washington with some regret, but we really felt that we made a good friend (that's how Sean treats you ... like he's known you for years and can't do enough for you).

The hotel is located 2.5 blocks from a Metro station; the Metro is easy to navigate and a great value. We never saw the inside of a taxi during our entire trip. We did ask Sean to arrange a car service for our trip to the airport at the end of our stay and think that we made a very wise decision (especially after walking, walking, walking for days on end -- but then we LIKE to walk). A pool and hot-tub on the second floor, next to the fitness center, provided much appreciated relief for muscles strained from all of our walking.

The only down-side to this hotel is that it's located in a area that has no real restaurants (unless you want to count coffee and sandwich shops ... and they close up early and are not open on weekends). Good food is available six-to-eight blocks (and more) away from the hotel, however (and there is a Safeway within walking distance for those who want to cook in their room).

When we do return to Washington, D.C. we will definitely book another stay at the Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol. It really is like a home-away-from-home experience (and is the quietest hotel in which we've ever stayed).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed overnight on our way to NYC. We paid for a king suite but the bed is more of queen sized. The room was impeccably clean and with lots of room for 2 people. The room has a small kitchenette, but never had the chance to use it. The bed was firm but the pillows were small and uncomfortable. The check-in was quick. Love the breakfast buffet - simple but all the essentials were there, including a waffle maker which delighted the kids. Staff were courteous and nice. Overall an okay stay for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Wanted to stay within walking distance to the Smithsonian museums & also the Capital bldg. Perfect location for walking to those. Not a ton of restaurants close to the hotel, but there is a Potbelly's which has great sandwiches & milkshakes.

Parking was a bit pricey, but for DC, it's worth paying and then just walking where you need to go. And if you're hoping for a great view of the city, good luck. My windows opened to the neighboring office building so my curtains stayed shut!

Room was nice with a comfortable bed. Kitchen made up for the lack of close restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#83 of 141 in Washington DC
2,650 reviews
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#102 of 141 in Washington DC
216 reviews
Residence Inn Washington Capitol...
#110 of 141 in Washington DC
70 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#8 of 141 in Washington DC
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol

Address: 333 E St SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-3221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#62 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $156 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing