We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy to Metro and weekend prices excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
Ranked #67 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Best time to visit Washington for a few days - Friday, Saturday, Sunday - we found that the drop in prices from weekday rates is phenomenal. Residence Inn Washington is a short taxi ride from Union Station and very handy to the Metro - Federal Center SW is nearest. The Metro gets you anywhere you need to go - which is just about everywhere because there aren't many restaurants or shopping centres near this Residence Inn - some quick bites at Sandwich Bars and Pizza places but nothing of restaurant quality (at least we couldn't find anything easily). The hotel rooms are comfortable, although not particularly large (but still good value for Washington). The breakfast room is a bit of a hurly-burly buffet when there are lots of families and children scurrying for food - but the staff do their best to keep everything orderly.

Room Tip: Definitely consider the room size and ask about it. If you've been staying in large rooms elsew...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaringaTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,051)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

661 - 667 of 1,051 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

Checking into the hotel we were very disappointed b/c our room was not what we thought we were booking. We had thought we were getting a 1 bedroom corner room on a high floor looking at the capital. I read the tripadvisor reviews and had called the hotel several times before arriving to confirm my requests and was told that it was fine...At arrival I was told by James that this isnt the case and that they dont have such a room in our room catagory. So...while he tried to assist us we ended up in a balcony room looking at another building. After expressing disappointment we were place in a nice room on the corner, looking at the capital. As for the property...it has a convinent location to the metro and national mall are not many food locations in the evening except for the pizza place next door (which is good). There is a very noisey train that runs next the property. It is a busy, loud train so be sure you ask for a room on a high floor away from the train. It is a very loud train. At the property we meet the lovliest people...Ursula and Andre.. Andre is the maintenance man. He assisted us during our stay and I have to tell you aside from being handsome he is very helpful. He pointed out interesting DC places to visit and gave some tips on things to do that arent the typical tourist stuff. I appreciated Andre's help and daily he would say hello and chat. Very nice person. However, Ursula stole our hearts...every morning she greeted us with a warm smile. She works in the breakfast area and was just the nicest person ever. I felt sad leaving on our last day and hugged her b/c she was such a gem. The breakfast is great..hot food, waffles, yogarts, parfaits, muffins, many choices. They have juices and sodas too. We especially liked the evening receptions. They had many fun things as well. The property has laundry for a $1 to wash and $1 to dry making it very convenient as well. There is a gym and indoor hot tub and pool too. Overall, while it was a pricey stay, the place had a good location and very friendly people. If you are looking for a place to eat...District Taco..its by the White House. They had great food for cheap and a fantastic staff. We ate their twice during our stay. Loved District Taco....you will too.

Room Tip: High floor, corner rooms with a balcony facing the capital! You will love the view. STAY AWAY FROM L...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimimcmillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We were there for a long weekend visit . The hotel is a block and a half from the metro station. We took the metro from Regan airport and walked the short distance to the hotel. No need for a car. The hotel is a short walk to the Capital Mall and museums.
The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. A super Breakfast was included in the rate.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skipper_Jay44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Booked a 2 bedroom suite which was perfect for our family. The rooms were neat and clean and gave us plenty of room to socialize before heading out for dinner. Parking was not an issue, we parked 2 cars at the meters across the street from 4:30 to 6:30 then the rest of the night through Sunday was free. Checked in a bit early as our room was ready, front desk personnel were kind and efficient upon check in and also check out. Breakfast buffet was more than enough for all of us, made some Belgium waffles, and there was scrambled eggs, potatoes, sausage, oatmeal, cereal, yogurt and a bit of fruit. I would especially like to point out the 2 ladies and the kind gentleman who took care of the food and continued to clear plates and ask if there was anything we needed. It may be their job but it was really nice of them all to go out of their way to start our day off on the right note!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryWestMilford_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here 4 nights. Arrived about 11:30 pm and was checked in by a front desk representative that did not give us a very good first impression. He was a bit disheveled and turned out to be the opposite of all the other hotel employees we encountered. Whenever we asked the front desk for information during our stay, all that we spoke to were friendly, professional and very helpful. All of the directions we received to the numerous Washington DC sites (Smithsonian, other museums, Botanic Gardens, etc.) were very accurate and within about a 10 to 20 minute radius of the hotel. The breakfast included with the room was good, although not any different from other Marriott's or Hilton's that offer free breakfast with your stay. One thing that stood out at this hotel was that the breakfast staff were all very well trained. They were friendly, helpful, and kept the eating area very clean. We got our spacious rooms through an online booking agency and got an excellent price staying from Wednesday to Sunday. The Wednesday night room rate was about the same as their rack rate, but the rate for the other three nights made our average room night cost less than $90.

The only downside to the location of this hotel is that there are not many restaurants within a short walk of the hotel. The hotel staff did provide us with a handful of restaurants that delivered and we took advantage of that. Enjoyed Italian, Mediterranean and Chinese dinners delivered to us.

Room Tip: Our room, located on the third floor had a perfect view of an office building next door. Consequentl...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank highdesert_flyfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed at this hotel last year for a few nights, Using Priceline we got this hotel for around $80-100 a night! We were extremely happy with it.

The room was big, the bed was comfortable and we had a great view. There's a grocery store a few blocks away that's very reasonably price (I can't remember the name, but if you ask the front desk they'll tell you.) As our room had an oven we just went there and cooked dinners in our room.

The included breakfast buffet was delicious and kept us full for about half the day.

The best part of this hotel is the location - it was a 5-10 minute walk to all of the museums and right by the subway.

Highly recommend for anyone going to sight see in DC!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I traveled to DC to sightsee in October. The hotel is very close to the metro and restaurants (we walked everywhere). The buffet each morning was delicious! Although we didn't use it, the kitchenette in the room was a nice touch. The room itself was a little dated and dirty, but overall a great value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lorraine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#33 of 141 in Washington DC
984 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#83 of 141 in Washington DC
2,576 reviews
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
1,527 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol

Address: 333 E St SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-3221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#62 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $174 - $593 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Marriott, Orbitz, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing