We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“For families.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
Ranked #50 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“For families.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

I only rated very good if you're looking for a hotel with families. If you are not with a family of young children then I would actually try to find somewhere else. The lobby is packed full of kids running everywhere. The rush for breakfast and the lines for the food is quite large. For my three young kids this was a good place for us to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vilho99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    355
    96
    24
    11
See reviews for
492
133
32
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Great location. 1 block from the Metro. Within walking distance to the tourist attractions. Good daily breakfast and it was included as always. Great free WIFI reception. My room was on the 8th and it was spacious with all the amenities Residences Inns have. Staff was friendly. I asked for a late check out and it was allowed. There is a pizza shop right next door. It was not bad.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cavv123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

I have stayed at this property several times while in DC for business, great location, close to the metro, short walk to the waterfront. Clean rooms, courteous staff and a good breakfast. This hotel is close to several of the government office buildings, there are not many restaurants close by so you will have to walk or cab it .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 75Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I read many of the reviews of this hotel prior to my recent trip to D.C. I agree with the majority of them. My experience was very similar. Great location and walking distance to the National Mall, well maintained property and dining/kitchen staff absolutely made each morning pleasant. They were very genuine and sociable.

The rooms felt like you were staying in someone's apartment instead of a hotel. Spacious, clean, comfortable rooms with all the amenities you and your family might need for a short trip or an extended vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frndlychat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joinville, SC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed here for one night with my wife. My mom was also travelling with us, so I reserved a separate room for her. I knew that parking was limited, so I made sure to get there reasonably early in the afternoon. They had plenty of space available in the garage. They also upgraded BOTH of our rooms to suites, which turned out to be WAY more room than any of us needed. The suites were huge, with bedroom, bathroom, and living area that includes a corner kitchen and dining table. For the rate we paid, it was a steal.

We were there to take advantage of the proximity to the Mall. It's only three blocks to walk to the Botanical Garden and the Museum of the American Indian. The Capitol is also a very easy walk. Great location.

We had no trouble with noise. Wifi was good. Breakfast was forgettable. Clientele seemed to be mostly business folks. The neighborhood is almost 100% federal office buildings, so it is pretty deserted at night. For any dinner options or nightlife, you'll have to go elsewhere. Federal Center SW metro is only one block away.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sipleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Jose Dos Campos, SP
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

The location is very convenient. I parked my car for 4 nights just in front of the hotel, across the street (it's free from 7 pm to 7 am). The staff is very polite and helpful.
The breakfast is very good, the room was very clean,
Once my room had a front view, we didn't hear any noise from trains.
I would stay there again any time I am in DC, my family liked the hotel a lot.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ric_Pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

The hotel is well maintained and the suites are clean and spacious. The buffet breakfast is solid even if not spectacular. The hotel is two blocks south of the center of the National Mall and very conveniently within walking distance. Parking can be a problem as there are only a few spaces under the building and the access to spots can be tricky. Other than that minor issue, everything is excellent and I would stay there again any time I am in DC.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rexpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#23 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#78 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,295 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#15 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol

Property: Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
Address: 333 E St SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-3221
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#62 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing