We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Right where you want to be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
Ranked #44 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Right where you want to be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I read many of the reviews of this hotel prior to my recent trip to D.C. I agree with the majority of them. My experience was very similar. Great location and walking distance to the National Mall, well maintained property and dining/kitchen staff absolutely made each morning pleasant. They were very genuine and sociable.

The rooms felt like you were staying in someone's apartment instead of a hotel. Spacious, clean, comfortable rooms with all the amenities you and your family might need for a short trip or an extended vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frndlychat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    337
    87
    23
    11
See reviews for
466
127
30
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Joinville, SC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed here for one night with my wife. My mom was also travelling with us, so I reserved a separate room for her. I knew that parking was limited, so I made sure to get there reasonably early in the afternoon. They had plenty of space available in the garage. They also upgraded BOTH of our rooms to suites, which turned out to be WAY more room than any of us needed. The suites were huge, with bedroom, bathroom, and living area that includes a corner kitchen and dining table. For the rate we paid, it was a steal.

We were there to take advantage of the proximity to the Mall. It's only three blocks to walk to the Botanical Garden and the Museum of the American Indian. The Capitol is also a very easy walk. Great location.

We had no trouble with noise. Wifi was good. Breakfast was forgettable. Clientele seemed to be mostly business folks. The neighborhood is almost 100% federal office buildings, so it is pretty deserted at night. For any dinner options or nightlife, you'll have to go elsewhere. Federal Center SW metro is only one block away.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sipleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Jose Dos Campos, SP
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The location is very convenient. I parked my car for 4 nights just in front of the hotel, across the street (it's free from 7 pm to 7 am). The staff is very polite and helpful.
The breakfast is very good, the room was very clean,
Once my room had a front view, we didn't hear any noise from trains.
I would stay there again any time I am in DC, my family liked the hotel a lot.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ric_Pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The hotel is well maintained and the suites are clean and spacious. The buffet breakfast is solid even if not spectacular. The hotel is two blocks south of the center of the National Mall and very conveniently within walking distance. Parking can be a problem as there are only a few spaces under the building and the access to spots can be tricky. Other than that minor issue, everything is excellent and I would stay there again any time I am in DC.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rexpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

There are 2 issues at this hotel. The first one is the train track that is just behind the hotel. If you're a light sleeper, choose a room away from that end though you still can hear it anyway. A room facing the capitol means that you'll also be facing the train track. As the hotel is in the middle of major buildings, there is basically no view. But as you'll be on the road most of the day, it shouldn't be an issue. The other issue you need to be aware of is the parking lot. There is very limited space inside the hotel so you should be prepared to park your car in the street. That means that you should be willing to wake-up at 7AM to pay for the parking space with a limit of 2 hours only. The hotel can do a better job of estimating how many residents bought the parking space inside the hotel and once they run out of space, they need to make other checking-in residents aware of what they need to do. I bought the internal parking option ($30/night!) but when I came back, there was no space. I parked at the street and informed the reception. The receptionist told me to bring the hotel parking permit (that you keep in your car) back so as not to be charged by the hotel(they don't take your word). I had to go back to my car and bring this piece back.If you find a space again, you need to go back to the reception and get a new permit!! I stayed 3 nights and was only able to find space for one night. Very inconvenient parking process

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, choose a room away from the train track. A room facing the capitol m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mason2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

If you are with several people, this is a great choice. Would not be great for couples or single travellers. Breakfast included and fine, standard fare. Stayed in a 2 bedroom suite - these are hard to find in DC. Location is good for museums, other reviews that say it is not close to restaurants are true but it is a cheap easy cab ride to lots of good choices. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Away from railroad tracks - did get woken up by train whistle once in 3 nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MDontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
114 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The location is great with only a few minute's walk to the Air & Space Museum along with the Mall. On the weekends there aren't many amenities close to the hotel since many businesses are closed, but we found a few sandwich shops nearby that was suitable for lunch.

The staff was friendly and although breakfast was busy, they offered a different mix of items on the 2 mornings we were there. The staff was friendly and bused the tables which is not common at the Residence Inns.

We used the pool/spa and exercise facilities which were all well maintained. The room with the pool could have been a bit warmer since the pool is not heated.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank windycityfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#33 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#77 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,155 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Courtyard Washington Convention ...
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#12 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,091 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#16 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,481 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol

Property: Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
Address: 333 E St SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-3221
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing