We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
Ranked #56 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Great place for family's. Very clean and comfortable beds. Fully equipped kitchen with separate dining area, nice living room with a sofa and a chair. Breakfast was okey with healthy and not very healthy choices .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bilge E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    383
    102
    27
    11
See reviews for
519
139
35
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

My family recently stayed at this hotel. We were in Washington to take my father (a World War II Veteran) to the Memorial as well as to sight see in DC. The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful across the board. They were especially attentive to my parents. Our Suite was clean and comfortable. They serve a free full breakfast and a light dinner Monday thru Wednesday nights. We appreciated the good food as well as the convenience. The area is quiet and seemed very safe to us. The metro is a block and a half away and easy to access. The National Mall and Capitol are close enough to walk to but again easy access by Metro. There is a Pizza Place next door with good pizza and gelato. We did not have a car so I cannot comment on parking. If you want to stay in a district with nightlife, this is not it. If you want clean, comfortable basic and quiet with good service. This is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel is only a few blocks walk to the National Mall and Capitol building. Easy access to Metro stops make quick trip to Zoo possible. Metro stop for zoo at Woodley Park has a lot of nice cafes with oudoor seating. Parking in hotel garage is tight as proven by all the paint left behind on the walls. However my husband managed to shoehorn our suburban in somehow without a scratch. The hotel is in a business district and there was plenty of metered street parking on the weekend. We were able to park in front of Air and Space Museum after check out on Sunday with free 3 hour parking. Rooms are comfortable and free full breakfast is fantastic (just get there before 8:30am on weekends to beat the crowd). Pizza place next door was okay and delivery Chinese is available. Prices weren't bad. Shop in hotel has beer for $6 bottle. As previous reviewer stated, ask for high room away from railroad tracks. They have a few rooms with balconies but not much of a view. Advice: call hotel directly on check in day to confirm reservation and ask for free room upgrade, you might get lucky. Have a fun trip and steer clear of FroYo food truck at Mall...yuck!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FiveDs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

My family and I stayed here three years ago on vacation, but the hotel has not weathered well and I would not recommend it. Everything has a shopworn air. Additionally, the hotel is directly next to what appears to be a well-used railroad; decidedly not restful unless you have a train fetish.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
81 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I enjoyed this hotel very much. It was clean and comfortable. I found the front desk staff, especially the evening staff, very friendly and accommodating. If you are looking for a trendy hotel hot spot near nightlife and restaurants this is not the place. As other reviewers pointed out the neighborhood does shut down around 6:30 p.m. The hotel provides a very basic breakfast (probably my least favorite part of the hotel) daily and a decent dinner Monday through Wednesday. The hotel convenience store is nice but expensive. Avoid it and get something down the street at CVS. There is a pizza place next door that is open later and it was very good. Their gelato was delicious. I loved the Paul Mitchell hair products and I liked how spacious the room was. Free internet is always nice. The hotel is just a few blocks from the capitol and located a block and half from the metro stop. DC has the easiest metro system to maneuver and you should not be afraid to take it from the airport. Do know if you are traveling alone that after 9 the walk from the metro to the hotel can be a bit unnerving because there is no one around. However, I walked home three nights and had no problems. If you walk down the hill a bit there is a CVS. It closes very early (like 6pm) but is a very short walk.

My only real complaint was one of the same other reviewers had: housekeeping. It was not a big deal and did not ruin my stay but was annoying. They did not pay attention to the do not disturb sign and woke me up early knocking. They also did not clean my room one day. Seemed a bit unorganized but nothing major. Overall I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Others complained of train noise. My room was on the 12th floor facing the alley. I didn't hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is a hotel that is good for families with children, although I did not see many. They provide a nice complete kitchen that is good for those who want to eat special meals or midnight snacks. They will even provide you someone to go shopping for you and deliver it to your door. Housekeeping is very good, if you need something extra, no problem. We had a few problems T.V and garbage disposal, and they took care of the problem right away. Breakfast could be a little better as a lot of places have a chef to provide you with eggs how you like them instead of scrambled every day. Loved their potato pancakes.The night snack was nice to have and is great for someone who has had meetings all day. The pool,gym,lounge, and rooms were all clean (and I bring my flashlight, cuz I hate bedbugs!!) but nope none were to be found.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mombeege123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laughton
Level Contributor
138 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

As other reviewers say, great breakfast, superb service and good location.

Downside the hotel is tired and in need of a revamp; not up to the normal US quality.

Rooms are large but poorly laid out.

We moved to the Gaylord opposite as this was more to our liking.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaughtonFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#32 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#81 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,409 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#45 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol

Property: Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
Address: 333 E St SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-3221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#62 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing