We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long walk to attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Ranked #54 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 22, 2009

From Sydney Australia. Stayed for 2 nights in October, family of 4 in a double queen room. As with all Hiltons this one had immaculate linen & pillows. Air con in the room was a bit noisy. The complimentary breakfast was accceptable but the variety was not as goood as other chains I have stayed at. The hotel is located close enough to the city for restaurants etc but is a bit far to walk to all the sightseeing attractions unless you enjoy a lot of walking. As another reviewer pointed out I was also a bit concerned re the homeless people who congregrate in the nearby streets and I made a point of walking my family back from dinner via 7th St rather than 6th St. Front desk staff were not very happy although to their credit I was given a room around 10am when I flew in from Vegas.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sydney59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,805)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,522 - 1,528 of 1,805 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2009

The hotel is very nicely located. It's a very short walk from the Gallery/Chinatown subway stop. We took a subway from the airport to here, and walked to the hotel from the subway. Not my favorite thing to do at 10 PM with luggage, but it felt reasonably safe. We encountered one domestic dispute between a couple happening in the subway station that made us uncomfortable that evening, but nothing else the whole trip that made us ill at ease in the neighborhood. It feels very safe to walk between the subway and the hotel in the daytime. No problems at all, plenty of others doing the same thing. We took the subway every day to go see the sights. Probably about a mile's walk from the capitol.

The hotel is very nice. Rooms were extremely clean, as was the whole hotel. Room was in very good repair. Beds are super comfortable, lots of pillows on each bed. Climate control worked perfectly. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. There's a business center where you can print for free, handy when checking in for a flight. Unlike many hotels in DC, wireless internet is free. There's a little shop with snacks, which was handy late at night. It rained throughout our stay, so in a couple cases we took cars instead of the subway. There's a staff person in the front lobby dedicated to helping with transportation issues. One car we preordered from them arrived 10 minutes late. Plenty of taxis drive by in the morning if you need one last minute. They recommended a reservation on Sunday morning because so many folks were leaving at the same time. There's a small but very nice pool, hot tub, and exercise room (Well equipped with cardio, weights, stability balls). Didn't use it, but there are laundry facilities on site. In contrast to other reviews, we had NO issues with any street noise. We found the hotel to be very quiet.

Breakfast is one of the best I've found included at any hotel. Many types of rolls, muffins, doughnuts, bagels, breads, juices, milk, coffee, cereal, 2 types of eggs, sausage or ham, biscuits, gravy, yogurt, bananas, apples, oranges, and cut fruit.

Very, very nice hotel. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. For the price, and with this location, it really can't be beat.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank winniewms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

We were only here for one night and when we first drove up I have to say I was a little concerned about walking at night in this area.
The staff was very nice but they need to clean their uniforms. When I saw their uniforms, the thought came to mind that maybe the rooms are a little dirty as well.
The rooms are great. Very clean with nice modern furniture and love how they have hide the micro and fridge.
Breakfast the following morning was very good with a little something for everyone.
We did walk to China Town and had a okay dinner, on the way back we went off onto a side street and I felt a little uneasy as a group started band around us just before we got to a area where others were walking.
Also feel the parking at $35.00 is high. We parked in the center of downtown for only $10.00 so do feel it's a rip off.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EnjoyingThePlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

my husband and i stayed in this hotel for one evening. great location!! so close to everything - especially china town. we walked everywhere but if we needed to get anywhere - cabs and buses were all accessable. they also have valet parking (for $34 dollars - one time fee) and will bring your car for you whenever needed. staff at hotel were great! breakfast in the morning was also wonderful. only complaint - one elevator was out of order. waiting for elevator took 5-10 minutes. other than that - hampton inn was well worth the money!!

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank chiggins41809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

We stayed at the Hampton Inn - Convention Center in Wahington for 5 days/ nights. The hotel was clean, comfortable, and well decorated. All service staff were pleasant and helpful. Housekeeping service was outstanding. The breakfast bar, which is included in the room rate, was extensive and offered hot and cold dishes.

This hotel is on the edge of Chinatown. There are many excellent restaurant choices including Full Kee Chinese restaurant.and Legal Seafood. Hotel is not far from two Metro stations and is walking distance from the Mall. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thruthegarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2009

The staffs are very friendly from beginning to end.

The reception and the room are nicely decorated and look new and modern, unexpected from a 2 stars hotel (see photos). My room is clean and tidy. The working table has a total glass top. It has a small refrigerator and microwave. The cover of the microwave was broken showing some of the circuitry but it still functioned. The room is not big but of reasonable size. There was some noise when the window air conditioner started up, also when some trucks ran by.

My room is facing the intersection. The location of the hotel is close to subway station and China town. I had a dinner in China town. It tasted awful and was expensive.

There is self parking just across the street (see photo).

The breakfast has a lot of varieties and 2 hot items and of good quality. The breakfast area looks spacious but can be filled up pretty fast.

Originally, I preferred at least a 3 star hotel, but this hotel exceeds my expectation.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edwin_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

Great location near Chinatown and subway. You can also walk to the White House and the Mall. Good choice of breakfast with yogourt and fruits.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nini09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Downtown / Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#75 of 141 in Washington DC
843 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#34 of 141 in Washington DC
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center

Address: 901 6th Street NW, at Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001-2520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $172 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 13 story hotel offers 228 rooms/suites complemented by public facilities which include a newly renovated lobby and breakfast area, a new bar, as well as a business center, guest laundry facility, suite shop, fitness center, meeting rooms, indoor pool with spa and valet parking garage. Each guestroom is finely appointed in a contemporary design with upscale touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelPower, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Washington, Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing