We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Ranked #53 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

My family really enjoyed our stay.
I really appreciated the front desk. They were extremely friendly and helped with recommendations about restaurants and how to visit the city.

Very nice room. Comfortable and clean. WiFi for my teens. Free everyday - even though sign in screen says one day only.

Full breakfast. Nice. Weekend was very busy so they didn't have waffles - but midweek they came back. Breakfast varied throughout week. That was nice.

There was some construction going on across the street and we were able to switch rooms when morning pounding started. They moved our stuff while we visited the Smithsonian. Hopefully the construction should be done soon. If still happening I would recommend asking for a side facing away.

We walked to the mall several days (less than a mile). But the metro is very close and convenient. It is very close to the Arena for sports and movies.
There are lots of different restaurants nearby in Chinatown from fast food to the nice sit down variety. There is a Safeway nearby if you prefer grabbing your own food.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear Jason,

We are so thankful that you chose to stay with us during your recent visit to DC. Thank you for sharing your experience on this site.

Our friendly staff and excellent location make our hotel a popular destination for business as well as leisure customers. Please feel free to reach our to our for future travel planning to Washington, DC.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,765)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

870 - 876 of 1,765 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2014

Stayed here as part of an east coast road trip. Parking is by valet only as it is with most city hotels. Hotel looked pretty new and was overall very clean for a busy city hotel. Breakfast was usual Hampton fare but was presented well even though they were extremely busy that day. The staff was average...nothing wrong, just nothing that stood out. Overall it's a nice hotel and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mullyinma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear Guest:

We are so delighted to know that your stay with us as wonderful. Our entire team would like to thank you for staying with us. We will strive to WOW you with personalized service for your next visit to our Hotel.

We hope to see you next time you visit our Nation's capital.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

The hotel has a good location, though to get to the metro station we had to walk though an area that didn't seem completely safe to me. After the first trip on the metro we decided to get around via Uber cars, which were terrific. Unlike most Hampton Inns I've been to, this one has a small bar just off the lobby. The bar staff there were very friendly and efficient. The morning buffet breakfast wasn't bad, but there were so many people eating that it was almost impossible to find a place to sit down. They offered complimentary wifi, but it was pretty slow. There was a loud construction site across the street that woke us and probably everyone with a room on that (the front) side of the building at about 7:00AM each morning.

Room Tip: There is very noisy construction taking place around this hotel. Ask the desk for a room as far awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank yankeeso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear Guest:

We appreciate you taking time to write about your experience while visiting Washington DC and staying at our Hotel. Our hotel remains very attractive and in demand for guests travelling to our Nation's Captial. We will work on improvinig our breakfast service delivery.

We will work hard to earn your "excellent" review in the future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Can't beat the Location- just 2-3 blocks away from Chinatown-gallery place metro station. Hotel was clean and free breakfast was nice. There is construction going on across the street, but we couldn't hear it from our room.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Gina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear Guest:

We are so delighted to know that your stay with us as wonderful. Our entire team would like to thank you for staying with us.

As you might know traveling to Major Metro areas, parking in DC is a premium. Our HOtel prices remain highly competitive for Full in/out previlege Valet parking. We offer parking inclusive rates through our Website- look for AAA parking package promotion.

We hope to see you next time you visit our Nation's capital.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

The staff was very nice and the rooms were nice. Unfortunately when you look out the window, all you see is the building construction across the street. Although we were there in the weekend and this did not bother us so much, when we got up to leave on Monday, they started construction before 7 am. We were already up to leave but there is no way other people could sleep through that. When I mentioned it at the desk at checkout it was kind of laughed off. On our booking receipt it said that we would be charged $38.08 a day for parking but in reality we were charged $39.95 at checkout. Also be aware that there is a 14.50 percent sales tax added to your bill at the end. Although you did get a hot breakfast each day, the food was not very good and there was never enough seating.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding recent stay at our Hotel. We are dissappointed that your stay during extreme demand period causing heavy breakfast flow.

Hotel team is working with Construction Manager to ensure they follow City permited construction time periods. While there are immediate challenges posed by construction to business and traveler alike, we look forward to providing exceptional amenities for our Guests during future visits to the City.

Please reach out me directly, if I may assist you with your next reservation while traveling to DC.

Sincerely,

John V

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We chose this site because of short distances to Metro (two blocks), National Mall (one mile) and 7th Street restaurant row (one street over). The staff is very nice, we were able to check in early and our overall stay was fine; we usually choose Hampton or Hilton brands. Be sure to ask for rooms away from construction, just as others have advised. Compared to other Hamptons we have stayed, this one is nice but is just a little tired and old. Our beds were worn, the tub had many surface scratches and dents...just seems to be begging for a re do . Two small elevators don't accommodate this hotel when full so prepare to wait a while. Same problem at breakfast during peak months...waiting in line and looking for a table. Our next trip to DC, we will probably choose a spot just a little nicer and a bit closer to the National Mall. This one is just at the line I would draw when choosing a safe neighborhood. Perhaps when the neighboring construction is complete, the area will look and feel better.

Room Tip: Rooms away from construction site nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinkerGirl1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your views regarding recent stay at our hotel. We are sorry that your experience was not consistent with our service history. We will look to WOW you during your next visit after Construction work across from the street is completed.

Our Hotel remains highly sought after for location and personalized service. We hope to count you among our loyal guests for future visits-

Let us know, how we may assist you with future travel plans.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed here while at a Conference in Washington D.C. for 3 nights. Pool was nice. Staff was friendly and efficient. Huge breakfast bar was great every morning and clean. Room was nice, clean. They took care of us. Will be staying here every time in D.C.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beverly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear Guest:

We are delighted that your recent stay with us was enjoyable. Thank you for taking a moment to share your service experience with our Team.

We look forward to having you return to our Hotel.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#69 of 142 in Washington DC
832 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#38 of 142 in Washington DC
465 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Downtown / Chinatown
Pod DC Hotel
Pod DC Hotel
#62 of 142 in Washington DC
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center

Address: 901 6th Street NW, at Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001-2520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $111 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 13 story hotel offers 228 rooms/suites complemented by public facilities which include a newly renovated lobby and breakfast area, a new bar, as well as a business center, guest laundry facility, suite shop, fitness center, meeting rooms, indoor pool with spa and valet parking garage. Each guestroom is finely appointed in a contemporary design with upscale touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Washington, Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing