We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Stay..Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Ranked #46 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Richmond
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Stay..Good”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Nice hotel, but across the street, there is construction going on. If you can ignore the construction noise. Even with the window closed and air conditioning, you can still hear it at 6 am. The water pressure was constantly in and out with the hot water taking awhile during peak times in the morning. The room was somewhat clean, found a pop top and bobby pin on the floor that was obviously not vacuumed up by maid staff. Overall clean hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was good and choices were many. Pricey due to the hotel being in Washington, DC.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank PattyG531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for writing!

Our entire team would like to thank you for staying with us and providing feedback. We are dissappointed that your stay was not without challenges. Your specific comments will assist us in improving our service delivery.

Thank you for your loyalty to Hampton brand and to our hotel.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    603
    153
    45
    24
See reviews for
607
296
77
472
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson Valley
Level Contributor
168 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stayed here for an extended period of time recently. I was given a King Suite, so my review reflect that. The room was clean, with a min-fridge (no Freezer) and a good microwave. The toiletries were very nice, above a typical Hampton (Neutrogena).

The free internet was speedy for a hotel, and reliable.

The staff was always helpful, friendly without being overbearing. The included breakfast team was constantly moving, keeping coffee urns filled and the breakfast items stocked. My only real issue was the quality of a couple of these. The 'scrambled eggs', were the typical buffet style , likely powdered or bagged .. but they were usually rubbery without a lot of flavor. They had only 1 day I recall were they had those folded over omelets, which were good that 1 day. The other was the cut up fruit. It was likely canned, not fresh fruit, with the possible exception of oranges/grapefruit.

The hotel is just a few blocks in opposite direction from the Mt Vernon Metro (yellow & green lines) or the Gallery Place/Chinatown station that also has the red line. It's location made this a very busy hotel during a very busy time of conventions at the Convention Center. That caused some wait at times for the 2 elevators.

Overall, would definitely stay here again.

Green Features: They had a separation of the trash into trash and recyclable. Also offered a hang up and reuse your towel option, though half the time it was changed anyway.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HudsonValleyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest:

We thank you for staying with recently and providing your service experience feedback. We truly appreciate your loyalty to Hampton Brands and our Hotel is particular.

Our location is central to business and leisure travelers alike. Hotel is know to have numerous return guests and we hope you will be one of them.

Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Went for a weekend getaway to catch a concert at DAR Hall. Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and smelled great. Bed was comfortable and we were able to enjoy the amenities, gym and of course breakfast.admittedly,hot breakfast choices were limited, turkey bacon and homefries is what I've at other Hampton Inns. Also the eggs were bland and dry. We only book Hampton Inn for the free breakfast option, so we expected better. Even so we really liked the hotel and would go back despite the breakfast.

Room Tip: There is construction across the street, so think about the view from the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eliza626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying with us and providing feedback. We thank you for providing specific comments regarding breakfast. We provide a Hampton branded breakfast menu and will continue to look into enhancing breakfast experience.

we look forward to your return; thank you for your loyalty to Hamptons.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WASHINGTON DC, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Nice stay close to just about everything lots of good places to eat, drink and have fun. Hotel staff is nice, rooms are fine, breakfast sucks but so what. Parking is very costly. Have fun! I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying with us and providing honest feedback regarding your service experience. We will continue to find ways of improving our service delivery to all our guests. Let us know if you have suggestions to improve breakfast service or product delivery.

Thank you for your loyalty to our Hotel.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, VA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I was here for one night - theatre event nearby. Was very glad to find this hotel so close and not outside my $$ limitations. Staff was welcoming and helpful - John even hailed a cab for me (John you rock)!! The bed was hard to leave behind - the tv was most excellent - and free bottled water was a plus! Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Nadokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Guest:

It was great to hear that you have fantastic time during your recent stay at our Hotel. Your comments regarding John was fantastic! We have passed along your Kudos-

Look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Húsavík
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2014

They have good service and the rooms are comfortable and tidy. The hotel is well located and the metro is only a couple of blocks down if you need that.
In all a good hotel but what surprised me was the breakfast flatware they let the guests use. Everything was plastic: knifes, spoons, plates and cups. Felt cheap in a otherwise nice hotel. Please implement a environmental policy and stop the waste.

Green Features: Pleace stop using plastic flatware for the breakfast table.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egisla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear guest:

Thank you for staying with us and providing feedback regarding our Hotel. Your comments regarding sustainable practices is much appreciated as well. We do follow a policy of sustainability not only in our Hotel but also within the Brand.

Products that we use for breakfast while is paper and plastic is made from recycled materials and hotel has a policy on getting these products collected for recycling. Environmental stewardship is essential to continued existence for our species and we hope to continue to improve our engagement in this regard as a Hotel.

We hope to see you next time you visit our Nation's Capital.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catasauqua, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Nice place to stay. Be aware that parking is limited. There are a lot of sirens in the night. Air conditioner was noisy. Husband couldn't get the water hot for his bath. Breakfast was very good but area a little cramped. Rooms clean. Felt a little pricy for value but haven't stayed anywhere else in Washington, DC so can't compare.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments regarding recent Stay. Our Team of professionals were delighted to hear you were satisfied with your stay; inspite of some challenges experienced. We as a team will look into issues of water temperature you encountered.

We thank you for your loyalty to our Hotel. Look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#62 of 140 in Washington DC
771 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#27 of 140 in Washington DC
302 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#47 of 140 in Washington DC
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Address: 901 6th Street NW, at Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001-2520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 13 story hotel offers 228 rooms/suites complemented by public facilities which include a newly renovated lobby and breakfast area, a new bar, as well as a business center, guest laundry facility, suite shop, fitness center, meeting rooms, indoor pool with spa and valet parking garage. Each guestroom is finely appointed in a contemporary design with upscale touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Washington, Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing