We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and very satisfied.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Ranked #49 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Canadice, NY
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good location and very satisfied.”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This trip was for an interview in DC. Since I was worried about the traffic, I was looking for a hotel that would be close enough to walk to the interview. I thought the price was outstanding for a downtown hotel. The breakfast was superb, including fresh pineapple, papaya and grapefruit. The valet parking is a tad steep, but it is unlimited in/out and for this area that is a good deal. We used the metro which is only 0.2 miles from the hotel and very easy to navigate. ($14 for unlimited day pass) The pool is smaller than most, but if you are traveling with kids it is a nice place to burn energy. I found the staff to be very professional and accommodating. There is a grocery store nearby and several good restaurants (especially Asian cuisine). We walked to an Irish Pub the first night, which was delightful. I was comfortable walking around at night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canadicechiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest:

we re delighted that you took time out of our busy schedule to review our Hotel. As you've mentioned, Hampton convention Center Hotel proximity majority of DC destination makes it first choice for both business and leisure travellers. Our international service Team provide exceptional personalized service to visitors from all over the world. We thank you for acknowledging our dedicated Team.

We look forward to your continuing loyalty to Hilton Branded Hotels. Should you return to Washington DC, please choose us as your Hotel of choice.

We look forward to be of service to you in the future!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    813
    628
    161
    47
    29
See reviews for
634
311
81
498
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warrenton, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Hotel was nice. Clean & quiet room. Awesome free breakfast. Our second stay at this hotel, because it is close distance to Verizon Center. Valet Parking here is expensive though.. $46 including taxes... geesh. Everything great other than that.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Loren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your feedback regarding recent stay at our Hotel. As you mentioned, our hotel location to Verizon Center is much appreciated by our frequent guests. Our Covered Valet parking gives added safety and security feature to our Guests. Our unlimited inout previlege is much appreciated by our guests.

Thank you for your loyalty to our Hotel. WE look forward to taking good care of you when you return.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My wife and I stayed here Dec 15-19 for a short vacation. The hotel was our base to explore all the Smithsonian Museums. The hotel is right next to Chinatown, which means tons of inexpensive but good places to eat are within a short walk. And the National Mall is about a 20minute walk away, which wasn't a problem for us. You can take the Metro Yellow Line directly from Reagan airport to the Gallery Place Station, which is a short walk to the hotel. My wife and I did this (each pulling a suitcase) with no issues.

When we first arrived, the room had not been serviced adequately. I spoke to the front desk about this and by the time we returned from an afternoon out, the problems were fixed. The room was a good size for being in downtown D.C. Breakfast was good, especially the breakfast bagels, and was normal for a Hampton Inn. I would stay here again to explore this side of town. This is downtown hotel, so it's not quiet like in the countryside, but it didn't bother us.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upper floors to have less city noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblingManTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying with us and providing valuable feedback. Our entire team loved to have you stay with us and explore Washington DC, our Nations Capitol. I am sharing your comments with our Housekeeping Staff to identify room readiness issue you mentioned. If you have specifics, please reach out to me at 202-842-2500 ext 2263.

We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

Sincerely,

John Varghese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I stayed here the night of 1/15/14. Upon booking this hotel with the reservations center I gave them my check card number so they could hold the reservation. Well on the morning of my stay the hotel had already charged my card for that night. This would not have been a problem if that was the card I had actually planned on using to pay for it. The account I used to hold the reservation did not have enough money to cover the whole total but my bank still let it go through and charged me a $35 fee. In 10 years of Staying at Hampton Inn's I have never once had a hotel charge me before I even checked in. Nor has any hotel chain I have ever stayed at. On top of that they charged me a higher rate than I was supposed to pay. I first called the hotel and spoke to the front desk and was told that this is a policy they have to make sure the money is there. If the card declines they cancel the reservation immediately. She did not seem to care at all that I now incurred a $35 fee for this and basically told me theres nothing she could do about it. I also asked this woman if there was anywhere else to park around the hotel and she refused to tell me and simply said they are not associated with any other parking companies. I wasn't even to the hotel yet and already wished I wasn't staying here. After I got off the phone with her I called the Reservations Center and spoke to two different people there who both agreed with me that this policy was unusual but once again told me theres nothing they could do. They transferred me to corporate where I was told each hotel has there own policies. I asked if they would comp me the parking which is $46 a night to make up for the bank fee and was told thats not possible. They told me to take up my issue with the hotel manager. So now I have to pay a $35 fee that I should have never incurred in the first place. This will be my LAST stay at any Hilton Property. There are plenty of other hotel chains out there who may actually appreciate my business and care about their customers compared to Hampton inn.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Austin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear guest:

Thank you for writing!

Sorry that you encountered challenging situation while recently staying with us.

Please reach out to my directly so I can assist you with your unique situation related to Bank Overdraft fee. Hote number is 202-842-2500 and ask for GM John Varghese.


Sincerely,

John Varghese
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This is an acceptable hotel; clean and generally efficient. I stay here each month for 2-3 nights on business. The staff is attentive and the rooms are well maintained. The food is horrible. Luckily, there are several restaurants within walking distance for dinner, however, that is not the case a breakfast time. I generally try to pick up healthy snacks to tide me over until lunch.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Loretta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback regarding recent stay at our Hotel. We look forward to addressing your concern during your next trip to our Hotel.

Thank you for your loyalty to our Hotel.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Everything about the hotel was great regarding room condition and staff. Unfortunately due to the hotels location in the city, it's can be a bit annoying hearing sirens blaring in the middle of the night being so close to a fire station. Better soundproofing should be considered when building hotels in these type locations. However, the hotel is in great proximity to the sites. Also I don't understand why a lot of hotels don't have better ventilation in the bathrooms when taking a shower. Not everyone wants a steam shower environment. If the hotel has it's own parking, I think it is absolutely ridiculous to charge guests $30+ a day for parking.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Antonio J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Antonio:

Thank you for writing!

Your feedback is very important to us to improve service delivery. Please accept our apologies for not getting the very best of service out of our Hotel based on your note. we will take a look at your room and see what can be done about bathroom ventillation. As you mentioned, Hotels location makes it very appealing for leisure and business.

Thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colton, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This hotel was in a great location, for using the public transportation system, Chinatown, Verizon Center, Convention Center. Many Eateries located nearby, and also a Safeway if we needed to by munchies for our room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest:

Your description of our hotel location is very beneficial to an out of town visitor to Nation's Capital. Our location is central to business travelers and leisure alike.

Proximity to metro stops, restaurants and grocery shops allow many of our guests to stay with us but catch the metro work in suburbs like Silver Spring, MD, Arlington, Alexandria & Crystal City, VA.

Our entire team looks forward to your next visit to our Hotel.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#67 of 141 in Washington DC
801 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#35 of 141 in Washington DC
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#46 of 141 in Washington DC
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Address: 901 6th Street NW, at Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001-2520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 13 story hotel offers 228 rooms/suites complemented by public facilities which include a newly renovated lobby and breakfast area, a new bar, as well as a business center, guest laundry facility, suite shop, fitness center, meeting rooms, indoor pool with spa and valet parking garage. Each guestroom is finely appointed in a contemporary design with upscale touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Washington, Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing