We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Ranked #49 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Henderson
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed August 6, 2008

Took my son to DC for sightseeing. Booked Hampton Inn because of reviews on this site. Overall it was a good hotel. Couldn't check in till after 4pm. This was tough because of a red eye the night before. The y did have a bag check in handy and the valet staff was very friendly. Location is a little far out for the Monuments etc.. but was never more than a 8.00$ taxi ride. Around the corner on 7th street there were decent restaurant , Ruby Tuesdays, Pot Belly for sandwiches. Not an area I would walk around at during evening though. Would recommend taking Gray Line tour to Gettysburg. It was a full day trip but a break after all the walking. Weather was warm and humid but occasional rain broke it up. Very neat town would return again!

  • Liked — 100% Guarantee
  • Disliked — Front Counter Attitude
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank chris317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    805
    618
    161
    47
    27
See reviews for
625
309
80
492
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2008

We stayed here recently (just back) for six nights. The staff were excellent- always helpful, and very polite. Beds very comfertable, breakfast so so, but adequate.

We had a small issue at check in, and before I knew it the manager on duty had taken charge, checked on a room for us being ready (5 minutes later0 and then wrote a lovely apologetic note and provided free snacks (pop, popcorn, cookies, etc)

Location is good- a 5-7 minute walk to the Metro, circulator stops just across the street- we used both.

However it is not so much the location of the hotel that is any problem but we did find the heat and humidity started to get to us by midday- and so used taxis a number of times for short hops.

I would suggest that if you want a quiet room ask for a room higher up and at the back of the hotel as we were on the front (3rd floor) and lots of traffic/fire engines etc noise at night and morning (not a problem for me as I use ear plugs when I sleep in a hotel)

overall the staff makes this hotel a special experience. Otherwise it is good but a usual Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank momtoemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2008

My boyfriend and I just spent this past weekend at the Hampton Inn Convention Center and we loved it! Our room was very clean and comfortable. We could see the Washington Monument right out our window. THe location is great...only a couple of blocks from the Gallery Place-Chinatown metro stop. It is within walking distance of the National Mall (approx 6-7 blocks).

I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. CHeck in is at 4:00 but we arrive early (11:00am) and they had a room ready for us. There is a free hot breakfast every morning in the lobby and it was very fresh. The perfect way to start the day for people who are anxious to get out and sight see! The swimming pool and hot tub were a nice amenity to have after a long day of walking.

The only down side was that parking is expensive, but parking is limited in DC so you will probably have to pay anywhere if you don't want to park on the street.

We will be staying there the next time we visit the Nation's capitol!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — parking prices
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah_b421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2008

My daughter had spent a night at this hotel in May when she came for a job interview and loved the property. So when we moved her to DC for her new job, we stayed here for three nights. The staff are all amazing - they go out of their way to help. And the breakfast isn't just cold cereal and danish - full hot and cold breakfast. Amazing! We used the business center and my teenage son used the work out room. We were within just a few minutes walk to everything, including the metro. And there are all kinds of restaurants nearby. The room was very comfortable for three adults. I will definitely consider staying here again when I return to DC for a visit.

  • Liked — Great breakfast, friendly staff, great location.
  • Disliked — Expensive valet parking - but that's the way it is in DC.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2008

This property is ok as Hampton Inns go--and was a pretty good bargain for staying in DC. But be aware that it borders a neighborhood that is not great and take that into account. Also, my wife and I checked bags with the bellman for only 2 hours (after checkout and before heading to the airport) and in that time, one of our bags was "lost" and has not yet been found. There was lax security as people were just retrieving their own checked bags from a conference room that was being used for storage. Security is something that needs to be very seriously looked at by the management of this property as it leaves it lot to be desired. We are still waiting for this Hampton to make good on its guarantee of 100% satisfaction and to replace the bag it lost!

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank uprof75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2008

Spent a long weekend there with older children (17 & 19). Great location not far from Metro & a variety of food choices. The staff was polite and helpful. They even gave me good directions from airport Metro station over the phone. Breakfast was very good. Rooms were small but clean - very nice upgraded bathroom.

  • Liked — Breatfast & bathroom
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rogerh11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2008

We found the previous reviews helpful and thought we'd return the favor. We arrived at the Hotel around noon and were able to check into our room right away. We were given a room on the 10th floor facing 6th street with a view of the Washington Monument. The bed was the most comfortable bed I ever slept in! We slept very well except the last night when there were quite a few sirens. There was always plenty to choose from at breakfast so we ate our fill in the morning and were good until we had dinner. When we came back to the hotel in the evening we were welcomed by the wonderful aroma of cookies baking. Yum! The only negative I have is on the day were were to check out we slept in and had the do not disturb sign on the door. at 8 am the housekeeping staff wanted to clean the room. I explained that we were checking out and would be out the room at 11. Again at 8:30 came a knock at the door...they wanted to clean the room. I again explained that we were checking out that morning and could clean when we left. Other than that we had a great stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Liked — Comfy Bed!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank wired2000Wisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#65 of 141 in Washington DC
793 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#35 of 141 in Washington DC
365 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#48 of 141 in Washington DC
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Address: 901 6th Street NW, at Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001-2520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 13 story hotel offers 228 rooms/suites complemented by public facilities which include a newly renovated lobby and breakfast area, a new bar, as well as a business center, guest laundry facility, suite shop, fitness center, meeting rooms, indoor pool with spa and valet parking garage. Each guestroom is finely appointed in a contemporary design with upscale touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Washington, Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing