We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Ranked #46 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington, DC, United States
1 review
“Would stay again”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Overall was a good experience. My only issues would be the wait time for elevators during peak hours and the limited breakfast options. However, the breakfast options we're pretty tasteful. Hotel is walking distance Convention Center and many other unqiue restaurants/attractions and Chinatown.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Derek O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Derek O,

Thank you for your review of the Hampton Inn Washington DC Downtown Convention Center. I am happy to read you enjoyed the attractions and location. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    608
    156
    46
    25
See reviews for
616
300
79
483
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This hotel is very reasonably priced and in a prime location. Located just 1.5 blocks from Washington Convention Center and close to Chinatown and the downtown museums.

Rooms are simple but clean. Every room has a refrigerator and a microwave. A bonus for people who don't want to be forced to eat out when they travel.

They serve a hot breakfast every morning and have hot coffee in the lobby all day long.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanasellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear novicetraveler51,

Thank you for you review of the Hampton Inn Washington Downtown Convention Center. I am glad to see you enjoyed the price, location, cleanliness, and breakfast. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is a fine hotel, but I found it very frustrating. The positives: the room was clean, spacious and quiet. The breakfast was excellent and newspapers were available. The staff was, generally, very friendly. The negatives: I exercise daily and at 6am the two treadmills were often busy necessitating a wait. Two seems too few for this large a hotel. And, while each treadmill was equipped with a tv, the audio jacks were broken. My door lock broke while I was there and my tub faucet was loose. And, finally, Hampton Inn requires you to scroll through screens of pay options before you find free television. I find that particularly obnoxious. Oh, and the button on the phone that should have gotten me the front desk, resulted in a busy signal. Dialing zero got the front desk. While these all seem minor, it made for a frustrating experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Herb1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Herb 1953,

Thank you for your review of the Hampton Inn Washington DC Downtown. I am happy to see you enjoyed the cleanliness, breakfast, and service. Please accept my apologies for the problems in room and at the fitness center. We will correct them. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capon Bridge
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel because it was one of the few that provides free breakfast and had an indoor hot tub. For a cost conscious family of 4, a free meal helps save money and every bit counts. We were really disappointed to find the hot tub was ice cold, still bubbling but ice cold. The pool chlorine levels were way too high. It actually choked our 6 yro and we had to leave after 5 minutes. Location was convenient, only a short walk to the metro. The hotel served its purpose for a short weekend getaway but I doubt we'd stay again. Just because there are dozens of other DC hotels that are a bit nicer for just a bit more money.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffs2CentsOnTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Tiffs2CentsOnTra,

Thank you for your review of the Hampton Inn Washington DC Downtown. I am sorry to read about your experience at the pool. We have corrected the spa heater and please accept our apologies for not living up to your expectations. We hope you will give us another chance. Please feel free to contact me and I will personally make your reservation. We hope to see you again. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We arrived just before 10:00 a.m., much earlier than I was expecting to check-in. The front desk staff accommodated our early check-in within about 20 minutes and invited us to have breakfast while we were waiting. This was awesome because we had been traveling since 4:00 a.m. I can’t imagine having to wait until check-in time (4:00 p.m.)

Parking here was easy and they accommodated a large SUV. Some hotels had signs saying no valet parking for SUVs.

The room was small for a Hampton Inn and we had a view of the apartment directly across from us. We weren’t there to spend time in the room but you should upgrade if room size or view is important.

The location was great and within walking distances to many attractions. I’m not sure if it is a safe area at night however. We frequently saw police cars parked outside or close by.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vay_KayK8e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Vay_KayK8e,

Thank you for the great review of the Hampton Inn Washington DC Downtown Convention Center. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed the location, breakfast, and how the Front Desk accomodated your early check-in. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We just returned from a a 5 night stay at this Hampton Inn. The person at the front desk was so helpful when we arrived. He decided to upgrade us to a larger room and gave us a room with the best of views, too. I don't know why; maybe we just looked tired. He and everyone who worked there was so friendly and always asked if we needed any help. They offer a free breakfast that includes make-your-own waffles, fresh fruit, hot cereal, eggs, sausage & bacon. Our room was absolutely spotless. I can't remember seeing a speck of dirt anywhere. My husband attended meetings a couple of blocks away at a hotel that cost as least twice as much per night and didn't include breakfast or a fridge or a microwave. We were close to a Metro station (which we used for everything, including transport to and from the airport), a great variety of restaurants and all sorts of shopping. We could've walked directly to some of DC's fantastic sites, but mostly we walked the 6-7 minutes to the Metro station and took a train to get closer to our destinations. I am completely happy with everything about our stay at this hotel: the friendly and efficient staff; the location; the cleanliness of the room; the amenities in the room and the rest of the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 12th floor in a corner room facing a small park on the corner of Massachusetts Ave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoggyMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear DoggyMommy,

Thank you for the awesome review of the Hampton Inn Washington Downtown Convention Center. I am happy to read you enjoyed the cleanliness, upgraded room, breakfast, and most of all the service from our staff. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had the occasion to stay at this property again April 25, 26, 27 and 28th 2013. Experienced no problem! The lobby construction that was taking place last summer(2012) in now completed and it is really nice. There is now much more room for the breakfast area and plenty of seating. Not crowded this time. The hot breakfast bar is a nice benefit of this property as it is convenient and saves a few bucks from having to leave the property in search of a place to eat.
Still there is lots of street traffic and lots of construction in the area plus the street people are still around. Although the daily parking fee is still high, it is a plus knowing that your vehicle will be safe and secure. Front desk personnel were friendly and helpful. Monica and Terri were pleasant to deal with as was Linda in the office. All in all if you want a comfortable and convenient place to stay while in D.C., you will not go wrong in choosing this property.

Convention Center Metro station was only two block away.

Other than the breakfast bar, there is no restaurant on premises.

Room Tip: Higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear James C,

Thank you for another review of the Hampton Inn Washington DC Downtown. We were happy to see you again. I am very happy that you enjoyed the newly renovated lobby with a new bar, the breakfast, and service received from Terri, Monica, and Linda. I will share your comments with the whole team. Thank you for staying with us and hopefully see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#63 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#27 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#48 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Address: 901 6th Street NW, at Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001-2520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 13 story hotel offers 228 rooms/suites complemented by public facilities which include a newly renovated lobby and breakfast area, a new bar, as well as a business center, guest laundry facility, suite shop, fitness center, meeting rooms, indoor pool with spa and valet parking garage. Each guestroom is finely appointed in a contemporary design with upscale touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Washington, Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing