We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Ranked #46 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ballarat
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed at the Hampton Inn for 4 nights late September.We were very comfortable,however our room was close to the lifts, which we found to be noisy. The staff were very friendly,and obliging.The hotel is in a great location,with many top quality restaurants within walking distance.
Once the renovation is finished the facilities will be even better,however we felt the quality of the breakfast was average,compared to other hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts and not facing 6th street,due to noise level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Lorraine A,

Thank you for the review of the Hampton Inn Washington DC Downtown. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the room, location, and friendly staff. The renovation is now complete and the lobby and bar look great. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    608
    156
    46
    25
See reviews for
616
300
79
483
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Hampton Inn because they had a swimming pool and we had our grandkids. We were told that a rollaway would be provided. We also were told it was convenient walking to everything.
The pool wasn't heated! The hot tub didn't work at all and there were signs not to use it. They said we couldn't get a rollaway because of fire regulations.
The lobby is under construction. The entire area around the hotel is under construction and it's a long walk or a cab to any decent restaurant. You don't want to walk through this neighborhood with kids.
The hotel has no food at all other than a mediocre breakfast buffet. There's no place to even buy water other than the vending machines which in our case was entirely empty of water, Coke and diet Coke.
We were paying a rate of 354/night including taxes. After two nights of our scheduled 6 night stay we left and went to the JW Marriott for 332/night plus taxes for a comparative rate of $378/night. There is really no comparison at all between the two hotels! The Marriott brought in a rollaway; the pool and hot tub were perfect; there is a store, Starbucks, room service, a nice restaurant in the hotel and many more all around it. From the Marriott we truly could walk to museums, the White House, The Monuments ect.
The Hampton Inn is in my opinion only suitable for undecerning business men attending an event at the convention center who don't intend to be in the hotel much and don't intend to go sight seeing. If women or kids are involved, they will hate this hotel and the neighborhood is not safe for them. If such a guest could get a Hotwire rate of $200, it might make sense.
In our case this hotel was recommended by an incompetent travel agent and we prepaid for 6 nights. I now need to fight for a refund of the remaining 4 nights. A desk supervisor told me there would be a refund, but I'll believe it when I see it as these are the people who said we would get a rollaway, the pool was great, we could get water from the vending machines, etc.
The whole two night experience with the Hampton Inn was a complete disappointment.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank cmacscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear cmacscott,

Thank you for your review of the Hampton Inn Washington DC. I am sorry to read about your disappointment with the hotel. We have corrected the pool heater and hot tub. Our store was under renovation at the time of your stay. I apologize for the lack of water that was available. I will personally reach out to you to make this right. Thank you for staying with us and I will be in touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Easy walk from Union Station to this hotel. Plenty of dining options near by. We ate Thai in Chinatown the first night and used Legal Seafoods the next. Room was clean and well-appointed. Hot breakfast was excellent and the sitting and eating area is newly renovated and spacious. Staff is efficient, friendly and very eager to please. Busy schedule prevented us from trying out the fitness center or indoor pool. Lobby is being renovated now, and management was on hand to ensure that no one was being inconvenienced during the process. Used D.C. Circulator to get to Georgetown and route runs within a block of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear tdme,

Thank you for the awesome review of the Hampton Inn Washington DC Downtown Convention Center. It is great to see that you enjoyed the location, cleanliness, guest room, and most of all the staff. The lobby has been completed and looks great. Thank you for choosing Hampton and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We arrive in DC on a late evening flight, stayed 1 night. Hotel was convenient to airport & shuttle bus pick up. Very friendly & helpful staff, comfortable room with frig & coffee making facilities. Rate included a generous breakfast with variety. I was impressed with the free use of a computer & printing facilities.
Thank-you

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Sue848_12,

Thank you for the great review of the Hampton Inn Washington DC Downtown. I am happy to see you enjoyed the location, friendly staff, room and complimentary coffee. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, IL
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Room was very nice and up to high Hampton standards; very easy access to convention center and comparison shopping felt I got a good price on the room and felt it was a good value. Was not in the mood for anything fancy, so the Chipotle around the corner was perfect for my needs. Easy walk to the convention center which means easy access to Metro as well. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank therockandsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear therockand sister,

Thank you for your review of the Hampton Inn Washington DC Downtown. I am glad to see that you enjoyed the room, location, and price. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We chose this hotel for one night for its good location to the Verizon Centre to see Madonna in concert.
Location was great, near Metro, Chinatown, local bars and restaurants so felt quite safe after dusk getting about.

We weren’t disappointed with our stay however, the hotel isn't finished as the lobby is half finished and the new bar was section was being worked on... so very noisy as soon as we walked in.

Rooms were very clean with fridge & microwave and an oversized bathroom. Beds were extremely comfortable with a very quiet air-conditioning unit which was a plus.

Breakfast was included in our deal which was an added bonus but failed to meet the 5* service as it was served with plastic cutlery on plastic plates… So trying to cut bagels and spread butter was extremely difficult and very frustrating!!

I would stay here again but only when the hotel is finished and more importantly when they start using proper cutlery!!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor as its quieter from the noise of the street traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank banana77771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear, banana77771,

Thank you for your review of the Hampton Inn Washington DC Downtown. I am glad to read that you enjoyed the location, cleanliness, beds, and room amenities. The hotel lobby is finished and the bar is open as well. We hope the next time you are traveling to Washington you choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montauk, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I needed a hotel to stay overnight on a recent visit to DC. Some of the hotels in the area would not allow a single nights stay. Anyway, I decided to stay at this Hampton. Hampton Inn is usually my first choice when I travel. I rarely have gone wrong at a Hampton and this Hampton was no exception. Overall the hotel was well kept and clean. My room was nice and well appointed with a little fridge and microwave. Everything looked good and smelled clean. The Bathroom was tiled and had granite counters. Furniture was typical Hampton but in very good condition. Most importantly the bed was comfortable. I am assuming the hotel is relatively new or they just take good of the property. I missed the breakfast so I cannot comment on that. The staff was very friendly. I had to check out and the staff held my luggage with baggage checks while I went site seeing. I picked up my luggage in the evening without incident. The sites were a 15 minute walk. The hotel is located in a decent part of DC. I felt pretty safe the whole time I was there. The only complaint I have and this applies to all Hampton Inns I've stayed at, is there bragging that they launder fresh the duvet cover for each visitor. Of all the 15 Hamptons I've stayed in the last year not one had freshly laundered duvet covers for my visit. I have the nose of a blood hound and can tell from a mile away if something has been freshly laundered. The chain should not promote and brag about something they blatantly do not do. This Hampton is still a winner and I plan on staying again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rossvin324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Vinross,

Thank you for the awesome review of the Hampton Inn Washington DC Downtown Convention Center. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed the cleanliness of the hotel, the rooms, and most of all the service that was provided to you by the staff. We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for staying with Hampton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#63 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#27 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#48 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Address: 901 6th Street NW, at Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001-2520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 13 story hotel offers 228 rooms/suites complemented by public facilities which include a newly renovated lobby and breakfast area, a new bar, as well as a business center, guest laundry facility, suite shop, fitness center, meeting rooms, indoor pool with spa and valet parking garage. Each guestroom is finely appointed in a contemporary design with upscale touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Washington, Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing