We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Oriented Hotel - Within Walking Distance to All”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Ranked #54 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Rooms and hotel as described. Small pool with adjacent hot tub (only worked part of the time we were there). We were on 2nd floor 2 doors away from the pool, hot tub and work out room entrance. Noisy in and out to these areas until 10 pm when the pool closed. Lots of families in hotel and appropriate noise levels for same. Recommend asking for higher floor in hotel to allevaiate noise issues. Elevator slower than anticpated and several times cleaning staff in elevators using same with guests. Front desk personnel very friendly, helpful and attentive. Recommend using hotel taxis which are available right out front of hotel. This service was not advertised, but discovered by accident in talking with fellow guests. These taxis are very clean and drivers are extremely helpful. Breakfast foods above average, but limited seating available in the breakfast area. Only negative during our stay was the 4 am wake up and evacuation due to "fire emergency" which last all of 10 minutes with no fire in sight. Would recommend this hotel for families who understand families and children create noise during daily life. If looking for quiet, peaceful stay, might want to check out another hotel. Kudos to the front desk staff! Would certainly book here again!

Room Tip: Book upper floors to alleviate noise disturbance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 3Mudbugs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,754)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,353 - 1,359 of 1,754 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2011

On our way into the city, we got lost and couldn't find the hotel. However, we were able to call the hotel and by giving them the names of just a few landmarks and street signs, they directed us to the hotel from across the city. Whenever we ran into a staff member, we were greeted warmly. The hotel was clean, rooms were as advertised, and the free breakfast was better than expected. The pool was clean, and after a long day of sightseeing, the hot tub felt very good on sore ankles. There were (yummy) cookies every night at six, and the lemonade was very good, too. We would highly recommend using the hotel taxis (the nice ones out front) over walking or flagging a cab to get around. One of the drivers, Robert, was especially nice and friendly. Other than a fair amount of street noise (sirens, etc.) and the elevators being a little slower than we would've liked, we couldn't say a bad thing about this hotel!! We would stay there again if we went back to D.C.

Room Tip: ask for a city view fourth floor or up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank the3wrights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Whilst moving a chair to better location in our room we came upon a dead mouse in a trap.after ringing reception to vent our concern we were meet
with a Luke room response.they sent up a cleaner to remove the trap but said these had been placed in rooms by a pest company and they did not know where the traps had been set so they had no knowledge to check.whilst the rest of the trip was good,the accommodation,breakfast etc the front desk were not.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gajord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We stayed at the Hampton Inn for 7 nights. We were in room 823, at the very end of the hallway, which was very quiet, and could only hear our neighbors when we were in our bathroom. This hotel has a police station and a fire station about two blocks away on either side. We did have quite a bit of noise from sirens on the weekend nights, but left our AC unit on and I wore ear plugs which helped block the noise. The breakfast was better than expected with breakfast meat served almost every morning along with eggs, fruit, waffles, cereals, yogurt, juice, milk and coffee. You just want to get down to breakfast by 8 a.m. or so if you want to sit down. There is a Safeway store very close by which came in very handy. The area feels a bit sketchy, however, we had no trouble. We walked to the Metro and into the main part of downtown DC with no problem. We also walked to Union Station. The Circulator bus stops near the hotel which can take you to Georgetown, or in the opposite direction, to Union Station and only costs $1. per person. This came in handy too. There is a very SMALL pool, hot tub and workout room which was nice to have available for our poor, tired feet! I would recommend as a family friendly, fair-priced, hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gardendiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josephgalvan, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2011

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you on your recent trip to the Capital City. We truly appreciate your patronage.

May success, special friendships, great health and above all love fill your summer and rest of 2011...

We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back to your home in DC real soon.:)

Joseph & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We found this to be a comfortable hotel, very clean with a spacious room and bathroom, and friendly staff. It is obviously an excellent choice for business people not looking for any luxuries who just want somewhere clean and comfortable to put their heads at night. The location is okay, close to Chinatown and within walking distance of Union Station where you can get the hop on, hop off bus. One of the bonuses is that they have a self service laundry - something we really appreciated as we were travelling for 6 weeks and find most hotels' laundry services to be exorbitant. There is no restaurant in the hotel and breakfast is fairly basic. It is self serve, all on disposable dinnerware and cutlery. There is also 'breakfasts to go' at the concierge desk so obviously their main clientele is people on the run. We couldn't complain about the service or cleanliness.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caz1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josephgalvan, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2011

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you on your recent trip to the Capital City. We truly appreciate your patronage.

May success, special friendships, great health and above all love fill your summer and rest of 2011...

We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back to your home in DC real soon.:)

Joseph & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

I recently stayed overnight at this property while in town for business. It is centrally located, clean and very comfortable. I was on the 11th floor, so street noise was a non-issue. I find this hotel to be an incredible value for the price paid considering the location. Chinatown is a 5 minute walk away, and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They provided a listing of local restaurants as well as what turned out to be an excellent recommendation for Thai food! Next time in DC, I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shakkazulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josephgalvan, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2011

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you on your recent trip to the Capital City. We truly appreciate your patronage.

May success, special friendships, great health and above all love fill your summer and rest of 2011...

We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back to your home in DC real soon.:)

Joseph & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We have stayed at five hotels on the and of these hotels this was the best by far. It is clean, in a greate location, and the beds were incredibly comfortable. Its location was also fairly good as we could walk Ford's theater in about 8 min.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bangkokexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josephgalvan, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2011

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you on your recent trip to the Capital City. We truly appreciate your patronage.

May success, special friendships, great health and above all love fill your summer and rest of 2011...

We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back to your home in DC real soon.:)

Joseph & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#68 of 142 in Washington DC
826 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#40 of 142 in Washington DC
441 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center

Address: 901 6th Street NW, at Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001-2520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $121 - $491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 13 story hotel offers 228 rooms/suites complemented by public facilities which include a newly renovated lobby and breakfast area, a new bar, as well as a business center, guest laundry facility, suite shop, fitness center, meeting rooms, indoor pool with spa and valet parking garage. Each guestroom is finely appointed in a contemporary design with upscale touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Washington, Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing