We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun. Great Food.”
Review of Meze

Meze
Reserve with OpenTable
Meze is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,053 of 3,237 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Adams Morgan
Transit: Red line Woodly Park 7 minutes to walk
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
390 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Fun. Great Food.”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Meze is a great restaurant. Middle Eastern cuisine is becoming increasing popular and more and more restaurants opening. A great diversion from traditional "continental" and American food. The flavours are wonderful. And, without the heavy sauces and fats, likely at lot more healthy too. Enough of the PSA, and back to Meze ... located in an old townhouse in the Adams Morgan neighborhood, the restaurant is small, but far from "cramped." Though billed as "Mediterranean" it is actually Turkish. We ordered the tasting menu -- two options to choose vegetarian and not -- and the selections were wonderful. The wine list is nice for a restaurant of this caliber, good selections for under $50, some under $40. Look for a Turkish wine and enjoy.

The staff are great.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wineaux FromAlexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    34
    21
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Charming dinner stop in Adams Morgan”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We settled on Meze after reading some reviews on TripAdvisor and because it is just blocks from our Dupont Place Apartment (also found on Trip Advisor). And it is a great little find! We arrived at 8:30 pm and had no trouble getting seats. The atmosphere is cozy and we enjoyed a window seat to take in the evening snow (it was March!). Meze serves small plates, so we were encouraged to order at least 3 items each. We were sharing our dishes & settled on a dip sampler (3 dips) with bread, mixed greens with their signature basil dressing, chicken kabobs and lamb meatballs. This is our favourite way to eat and it was a great choice. The dips were pretty solid, the salad was delicious, the meatballs & kabobs were both very good. I would have liked some tzatziki on the side, but that is a pretty minor complaint. The service was just ok. It was a quiet night and perhaps that made the staff a little complacent. We will certainly go back - perhaps when it is warmer because it is an interesting district for a stroll.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service and Great Brunch!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Loved the food, service, and location. Great menu choices for both meat and grass eaters! If you are in thus area. It is worth trying out.

Helpful?
Thank Glenn72D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Level 6 Contributor
363 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“tight and cramped”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Probably not unusual for restaurants in this area, or anywhere in DC for that matter, real estate being what it is. I'd expect a little more elbow room in this dinning/residential area just outdie the bustle and bustle of downtown. Pricey, and the waiter kept saying 'portions are small', as if to warn that we'd leave hungry. But deft scrutiny of the menu, adding portions of bread to single entrees and an appetizer and we had just enough room for dessert we got down the street. Service was slow although they were busy. We did get a quick seating when other places we had not made a reservation and they were quoting hours of wait time.
The portions were tasty, however, but not a wide selection, so overall I give it a step down from 'good'. Given everything else in the area I'd not place this tops on my list of return-tos when I visit again, which I do frequently from out of town.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HikingTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Turkish Restaurant”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Turkish restaurant in Adams Morgan area. An excellent piece of variety in the neighborhood. Can't say I'd ever had Turkish before, but this place showcases the best part of Mediterranean eating: the sharing. The titular meze, like tapas or dim sum, are small plates meant to be split with friends, and there's quite a nice variety. Wide variety of food and cocktail specialties. Try their Mojitos.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Art G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meze also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Meze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing