We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great deck and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Local 16

Local 16
Ranked #1,445 of 3,199 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American, Bar, Mediterranean, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: U Street Corridor
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great deck and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Ok I am being biased- this is my brother's restaurant but it is a fantastic place. It has a great deck with flowers all around and the food is really good. I should know since my brother is a huge foodie! The menu is close to his heart and I have had the pleasure of tasting the various items!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    15
    10
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis MN
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great happy hour menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

I liked the ambiance, although it was a bit dark for 7:30 p.m. Happy hour prices were good, snacks were inventive - e.g. deviled eggs, shrimp croquettes. Dinner pizza was great, especially the crust. Yum.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“French creator with Southern dishes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

Delicious. The fried chicken is not to be missed. The deserts are definitely French and wonderful. Really a special place for dinner.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Seattletravel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Sometimes 'Local' is NOT good.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

Meeting a group of West Point classmates for the 'Brunch Special' at what appeared to be a neat 'U Street' gathering place. But today was NOT a day to gather together. We had reservations, they had no idea what we were talking about, but after a little talking we got the outside patio table. Now the task was to be waited on. That took forever and the poor young woman just was not up to the task. Water glasses about 1/2 full and warm (but with ice). When our orders came, the French Toast was nothing but 4 slices of cold toast without any syrup, 'thats french toast' as we were told. Sorry but NOT. Service was horrible, even the waitress complained to us about how the kitchen screwed up most all 9 of our orders and drinks. The group consensus was to find another spot next time and delete this one.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank armydad0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“HORRIBLE WAITERS”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

I came here for the first time with one of those groupon type deals and I guess so did all the other patrons. It took:

20 mins: Drink order
20 mins: Food order
15 mins: Food arrived
40 mins: Check, brought by a busboy

Apparently no one knew where the waiters were. The tables near me were annoyed also. Menu is very limited. Mimosas were refilled fairly quickly by the busboys.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarTesa5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Local 16 also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Local 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing