We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Selction Great Decor irish Foods too”

Kelly's Irish Times Pub
Ranked #577 of 3,196 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Defiance, Missouri
Level Contributor
505 reviews
351 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Good Selction Great Decor irish Foods too”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

A good choice being cheek by jowl with the other famous Irish Pub off Congress. good classic pub establishment nice long bar, lots of PD memorabilia. Good pub food menu, quick service, pastrami, buffalo chick and roast beef were all readily consimed and commented to be above average in taste and reasonable in size. a good choice in a crowded food environment.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hobietim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    81
    62
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great place to kick back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Always a great time food and drink are great and authentic. Will be a repeat customer time and time again

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Another Irish pub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stopped in to have a bite and a beer around nine at night and the place was empty. The beer was okay in price and the food was okay and pretty cheap.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MoniUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
296 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Really Cool Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

The place has a lot of space, so even on a busier night, you're not really elbow to elbow. It's well decorated and feels very homey. The bartenders and waitresses/waiters are all quick, attentive, pleasant and hard-working. They've got a pretty alright beer selection and they serve up a decent fish and chips. It's conveniently located a block away from Union Station, so it's really easy to get to.
There was one doorman who was a bit of an idiot though. He wasn't at the door or anywhere near it when I walked in. (I always look. It's standard) But when he finally caught up to me, he was condescending and quite rude. Yeah, here's my id. I'm thirty. Not nineteen. Now bugger off, douche.
Apart from that, it's a great bar. I'm sure the rest of their door guys are just fine. Either way, I'll be back and look forward to it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainAwethume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Dive, but it has character”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I told the concierge that I was going to Kelly's with my family and he basically told me it is not the place for kids, the crowd is rowdy and the police frequently are called to the place. The location is right next to Capitol Hill and Union Station. There was no one to greet you at the door, you just walk in and take a seat. The service was below average as the place was dead and it took a while for the waitress to take our order and eventually get our dinner and drinks. The back of the bar has a pinball machine and a couple of video games. The food was average at best, noting special. The calamari was average at best and it was not served with marinara sauce and the french onion soup was below average. We got there at approximately 6 PM and they did not have any Irish Stew. They have flat screen TV's throughout the restaurant. I can see this place being fun if you are hanging out at the bar and having a few drinks with friends, but I would not suggest the food. The place was not as bad as the concierge made it out to be, but I agree that it is not a place to bring kids.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terps92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kelly's Irish Times Pub also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Kelly's Irish Times Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing