We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Ambiance”
Review of Fado Irish Pub

Fado Irish Pub
Reserve with OpenTable
Fado Irish Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #213 of 3,228 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Irish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Avon Park, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Food and Ambiance”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This eatery had a good selection of Irish ales, a pub atmosphere with rustic wood decor, but a well positioned set of flat-screen televisions for sports viewing. The food was wonderful, and the wait staff was very friendly and accommodating.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank wbennett365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    131
    51
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lots of Energy”
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our gathering at this pub. There were seven of us and the place was busy but somehow we were accommodated. The waitress was very attentive although the place was hopping. Note: soccer on the TVs means lots of good natured noise. However, it did not interfere with our eating, drinking or chatting. The fish&chips were great and it was an large portion. This is a great pub environment.

Helpful?
Thank gmiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
404 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Chain Irish”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

JMJ They do a nice job of trying to look and feel like an Irish pub. The food was good especially the Guinness bread. They were accommodating to make my lamb sandwich into more of a stew and I appreciated that. The waitress was attentive but it was a busy time and the seats in the back left you a little out of the action. Maybe a romantic couple would have liked it better. Surprised to see them serving wine, but I hear DC is a wine town-Ireland only lately serves wine and not in some of the pubs. Tried to be Irish but still just a bar with food and an attempt-never heard one brough.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mother15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Terrific Gathering”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I scheduled a reception at Fado for colleagues. The staff was most accommodating is reserving a portion of the pub for my group. They had our appitizers ready on time and we had wonderful service from Heather, our server. The cost was very reasonable; drinks were served quickly and also reasonable in price. We spent two hours there and had a rousing good time. Would certainly do that again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank BJW45701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
308 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Charming place”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

the food was above average. It is really a bar with food available. They had a good selection of beers both craft and imports.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank johnwGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fado Irish Pub also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Fado Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing