We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality ingredients and preparation”
Review of Poste Brasserie - CLOSED

Poste Brasserie
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: F Street
Transit: Metro – Gallery Place
Description: Poste will delight your senses with mouthwatering dishes and an award-winning wine list, in an atmosphere like nowhere else. Chef Dennis Marron serves up modern American Brasserie cuisine emphasizing fresh, local, and organic ingredients...even as local as our backyard! Whether you are enjoying a hand crafted cocktail on our outdoor patio, joining the happy hour crowd in our lively bar area, or cozying up in one of our booths on a winter evening, Poste is sure to have something to fit any occasion.
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We visited Poste and sat at the Chef's table-what a treat! Watching the chefs prepare all the meals with precision and extreme care to quality was impressive.

Thank you for the carmelized goat cheese - wow, that was amazing!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lynn_and_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 166 of 290 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stopped in for a quick bite before the Marquette/Syracuse game and were seated immediately. Great ambiance - nice and bright! Waitstaff were friendly (but not overly so) and efficient. I ordered the "Mr. Crunchy" and loved it! Nice fresh side salad came with it. The sandwich bread was delicious and, indeed, crunchy! My husband ordered the entree salad with chicken and enjoyed that as well. We'd definitely go back for dinner sometime.

Thank MP_PhD1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

On a very busy evening when the Verizon Center was having an important NCAA game, all the surrounding restaurants were full yet the Poste had an opening for our party of 6. The ambience was very pleasant, the appetizers were very good, the main entree (Arctic Char with farro and greens) was delicious, and the wine list had plenty of wines to choose from. The only negative item was the dessert. We ordered 2 types of desserts from a menu of 6 desserts. Both desserts were poor: 1) the fruit tart turned out to be a mini-apple pie with an extremely thick crust on top and on bottom and 2) the chocolate cake (no taste; appeared to be a non-tasting cake box type) with orange glee and candied orange peel. It was a pity!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kensington35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I ate there for breakfast and lunch and the food is well prepared and properly served. The dining area is tiny but good for conversation or relaxation. The cocktail lounge is a beehive of activity at night - jammed, in fact and everybody was having a great time. Both female bartenders knew their trade and made drinks the way they should be made - i.e. the way the customer specifies.

Thank BobofNewtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew C, Manager at Poste Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Good Evening,

Thank you very much for your feedback, and I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience at Poste. Our bartenders are always more then happy to make sure that whatever our guests order is up to their standards and it seems like they succeeded. Please let us know the next time you are in and don't be afraid to reach out to me if you have any special requests.

Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a lovely meal at Poste in DC this weekend. A bit pricey, but a very nice place to eat. My main dish of scallops had only 3 scallops but it was enough for me. A big eater might have been disappointed. The accompanying Polenta was a little tasteless. Two other people at the table had the skirt steak and their portions were large and they said their meals were delicious.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Simon4206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poste Brasserie also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing