We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing meal on a lovely evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sea Catch Restaurant & Raw Bar - CLOSED

Sea Catch Restaurant & Raw Bar
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Georgetown
Cross street: M Street
Transit: The closest Metro is Foggy Bottom and Rosslyn on the Blue Line. You then can take the Georgetown Connector for $1.00 to M Street and 31st.
Description: Experience Georgetown's hidden gem! Located in Canal Square (M St and 31st St) you can choose from either a cozy table near one of our two stone fireplaces or request outdoor dining along the historic C&O Canal. Sea Catch is proud to serve only the freshest seafood. Sea Catch has one of the largest Raw Bars in Washington DC, which serves an average of 6 to 12 East and West Coast oysters. Dinner Specials change daily to take advantage of the freshest produce available. Make sure to look at our Extensive Wine by the Bottle and Wine by the Glass lists as well as our Seasonal Cocktail (feat: mojitos and margaritas), Elixir & Distinctive Martinis, Specialty Cocktail & Martini menus. Enjoy $1 OYSTERS AND HALF PRICE DRINK SPECIALS DURING HAPPY HOUR, Monday through Friday from 5:00pm to 7:00pm. Celebrate Holidays and Special Occasions with a gift certificate from Sea Catch.*SEASONAL OUTDOOR PATIO SEATING!* (We do not accept reservations for our outdoor seating.)
Lincoln
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing meal on a lovely evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

I read reviews of this restaurant on trip advisor so I booked a table from the reviews of others and they were not wrong. The food was amazing and the staff were very attentive, although the restaurant was not that busy. I would recommend this restaurant and definitely eat there again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemjohn15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    112
    58
    20
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
106 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cool building, better food elsewhere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Georgetown is such an amazing place for food that you really need to be on your game to out draw the competition. I love the Sea Catch building (and history). The outdoor dining is also excellent. And the location is good. As for the food, I will give a very high score for the Rockfish special on my last visit (called Striper or Striped Bass in many locales). The oysters are pretty good as well. It is obviously a seafood restaurant so if your party includes any non-seafood lovers (or allergies in our case), the alternatives are not good. The steak was not edible (poor quality beef and overcooked). We gave modest negative feedback when asked (and plainly didn't eat the steak) and to their credit, they removed it from our bill. The waiters were friendly on my visits this May and May 2013, however neither time did my table receive very attentive service. The wine list is average at best. Where are the Oregon Pinots that pair nicely with seafood (or Pinot Gris for that matter)? All in all, a cool place but there are simply too many choices in Georgetown to give Sea Catch more than 3 stars.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brokerdt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Nice ambiance, right on the canal. Good seafood - lobster, shrimp, fish. Usually quiet during the day, especially during the offseason. No one in our party had any complaints.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allyy504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding Seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Great seafood and excellent service. Definitely worth the trip. Good variety of appetizers and entrees and a killer red velvet cake for dessert.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dinning Beside The Canal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stopped by the Sea Catch Restaurant & Raw Bar on March 24, 2014 after touring Washington DC and deciding to take a whimsical trip through Georgetown. The afternoon atmosphere was wonderful. Dennis, our waiter, was attentive and knowledgeable of the menu. Although we originally planned to partake of the raw bar we decided on the fish and chips. They were delicious. They also made one of the best dirty gin martinis I've had recently. I would not hesitate to go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank terewilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Catch Restaurant & Raw Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing