We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best new monument on the Mall since the Iwo Jima Memorial!”

National World War II Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Washington DC Evening Tour
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Washington DC National Mall Evening Walking Tour
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Small-Group Sunset Electric Bike Tour in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Marion, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best new monument on the Mall since the Iwo Jima Memorial!”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Standing before the Indiana tablet at the World War II Memorial on the National Mall is a very moving experience! On a recent trip to the nation's capital, I had the opportunity to tour the monuments at night,which was a first for me, except the Lincoln Memorial. Our visit to the WW II Memorial was really the highlight of the tour. With the sound of rushing water in the background, I was both proud and sad to see my state's representation. The Washington Monument towering above, and the Lincoln temple in the distance was one of those moments that make you realize how vital and important these memorials are in our Federal City. Really, Washington is one of the most beautiful capital cities in the world. I was so happy to see thousands of school kids on their break, touring these historic sites. I hope the meaning of these places is instilled in our children for many generations to come!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,490
    1,621
    384
    77
    23
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Greenwich, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Honor for Americas greatest generation”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

It was very well designed and laid out. It can handle a large number of visitors. There was an event there and there was still planty of room.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank WGRITravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Find a monument of your state for tribute”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Passing tbe White House and on the way to Lincoln Memorial, we found this Memorial. It's composed of 50 light-gray colored monuments for each of the 50 states of the country and a central piece which circle a round square.

While so much impressed by its overall, unique design, we were eager to find the Iowa monument to pay our tribute to the Iowans who sacrificed their lives for the world peace. Every American who visits this memorial may find a monument of his her state for a moment of silence.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Will Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

I really like this memorial as it has separate tributes to each of the States and has a very lovely fountain in the middle. Really nice to view

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank beezer90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Terrific Honor”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

The Nationall WWII Memorial is phenomenal. It is a beautiful and picturesque reminder of what the veterans of WWII did for our freedom and the future of our world. Located at the start of the long lane of memorials this is the perfect way to start your history tour. It honors our veterans with a gorgeous water based center and surrounds you with the names of our states and those involved in saving the world from tyranny. It is a true testament to the veterans and the people that built this memorial to honor them.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Noname121227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National World War II Memorial also viewed

 

Been to National World War II Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing