We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Greatest Generation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of National World War II Memorial

National World War II Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Washington DC Evening Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The Greatest Generation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I am a WWII expert than can teach a freshman or sophomore history class on WWII at a university. Salute the greatest generations of Americans ever.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Abram M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,924 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,979
    1,495
    354
    74
    22
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Caythorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
301 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“A superb tribute”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I have to say it is odd to see a memorial for the second world war of 1941 to 1945, but reflects the US's entry following Pearl Harbour. It is a superb memorial detailing both the Atlantic and Pacific theatres. There are quotes all around the memorial picking out key moments of the war. The memorial sits in the mall between the Washington and Lincoln monuments, but without obscuring the view of all these major sites. Take time to visit, it is well worth the time and reflect on what the gold stars represent, moving.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tricky273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
111 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“About Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

It is about time that veterans from WWII are honored with this exhibit. While it is a shame it is not an indoor exhibit showing all facets of the War, it is also understandable. First, since it was a monumental war and time, with so much involvement in different areas of the world, I am not sure it is possible to have such a large building reflecting all of it. Also, my understanding is that because of the location, they did not want to build a museum there that would block the view from the Capitol Building to the Lincoln Memorial. This memorial certainly deserves to be in the National Mall, with the other honored places for great leaders. My father fought in Tunisia and France and it makes one very humble to see all the countries represented. Please go and pay tribute and thanks to those that sacrificed so much to better our country and help the rest of the world.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank rainiershadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
95 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful tribute to our World War II heroes.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I especially wanted to visit this memorial as my father and father-in-law both served. This is a beautiful memorial and to see those gold stars each representing one hundred lives is sobering. It is nice to see each state represented and both the Atlantic and Pacific areas. The fountains are refreshing to see on a hot and humid day. We are losing so many of our WW11 veterans each day and I love that there is a program to try and get each of them to Washington DC to see this memorial dedicated to them. My father-in-law was able to visit before his death and my father has also been to visit, even though it was not through this program. If you have a loved one that has never been, check into this opportunity.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 411Elle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
235 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“finally”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

It is really gratifying to see the WW2 vets visiting the memorial. They gave their all for this country. My daughter and I were at Reagan National waiting for our departing flight and an Honor Flight arrived. It was one of the most moving experiences to cheer the vets as they deplaned. Goose bumps.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National World War II Memorial also viewed

 

Been to National World War II Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing