We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oh so good”
Review of The Melting Pot

The Melting Pot
Ranked #2,392 of 3,213 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American, Swiss, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Cross street: Between M and N Streets
Transit: To travel to our restaurant on the Metro, take the red line to Dupont Circle and exit the South side. We are a block and a half down 19th Street on the right hand side.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“oh so good”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The DC melting pot is tucked into a basement on a partially residential street, making it seem like a secret spot. It can get crouded, so reservations are a good thing especially on the weekends. They frequently have specials if you sign up on their website. Lunch is a good time to visit if you want the fondue experience without spending as much as dinner. you can even go just for desert!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Micki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    12
    9
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
220 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Really fun for a birthday”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I'm trying to stick to my principals on ratings with trip advisor.....Very good should be 3 with excellant at 4 and superior at 5. This would be a solid 3.5. I had a wonderful time doing fondue for the first time in a decade. All the ingredients were first rate and the service was better than many places I would give an excellant to superior rating to. I had a great time with a friend going through their 4 course sampler....bring a big appetite. The ingredients were first rate and the service wonderful. Of course we cooked our own dinner. Would strongly recomend this place for parties or get togethers with friends as something different. They also have a decent wine list.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bumper1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fondue heaven!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Went for dinner with my missus and had a lovely romantic dinner, 4 course meal was perfect, great salad, cheese fondue and then a mix of shrimp, meats and chicken fondue made with a wine broth, to close the ying yang chocolate was great for closing the deal!
Waiter was friendly and good service

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ericfontaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Something different”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had the pleasure of meeting the manager, Tash, out a few days earlier and he told us about The Melting Pot, so we decided to give it a try, and it was awesome! The service was great, the food was delicious, and it was a lot of fun! So glad we took his advice! Thanks Tash!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Secolella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We enjoyed our food at The Melting Pot. Our server giggled like a child the entire time which did detract some from the experience, but overall she did her job just fine after some slow service with our drinks initially. The beer cheese dip that is on their summer special menu is out of this world. For the price, I did expect a bit of a finer dining experience, but as a one-time meal out that we'll probably never do again, it was a lot of fun and tasted great.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tonya81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Melting Pot also viewed

 

Been to The Melting Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing