We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chef Timms, what an asset.”
Review of Juniper

Juniper
Reserve with OpenTable
Juniper is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #220 of 3,257 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Cross street: 24th and M
Transit: Foggy Bottom Metro Stop, orange and blue lines
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Chef Timms, what an asset.”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Service,staff, food and ambience were spot on, I would highly recommend a meal here.

Breakfast buffet is WOW, so much to choose from. Healthy options if your counting the calories and also the more filling options.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank GFOSTFOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    82
    24
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Fabulous crab cakes!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Live in the neighborhood and had a gift certificate to dine here. The food was really delicious, fresh and with a very helpful and friendly staff. As a native Marylander, I can tell you these are some of the best crab cakes ever! Other entrees were also good and the desserts as well. Often an overlooked restaurant in the city but you will not go wrong enjoying a meal here.
Cocktails at the bar a bit pricey.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank globetrottertoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fine restaurant but one unfortunate menu item”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

During several stays at the Fairmont Washington DC, I have enjoyed meals at this restaurant within the hotel. The food is usually very tasteful and well-presented. On my most recent trip, this held true for the breakfast buffet. The choices were plentiful with the traditional items as well as a few surprises. However, we also ate dinner one evening and that was a huge disappointment. I am sure it was our own fault for not having heard of Wagyu beef. Based on the waiter's description of this special (not on the menu) beef as exceptionally high quality, my partner and I both ordered it. We were horrified to discover the beef is very fatty. Had I understood, I would never have ordered it. It was simply nasty, in my opinion. My partner said "blech." When the bill came, we were equally horrified to discover each order cost $56. We had no idea. Perhaps we're not sophisticated enough for this dish, but if you don't like fatty beef - consider yourself warned!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Delicious breakfast!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was a good spot to have a brunch/breakfast for our family when we were staying at the Fairmont in Washington. They have great omelettes, and their selection of hot and cold items for breakfast is excellent. It is a very convenient location- bright, clean and comfortable with lots of windows.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChinookTravel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Try the Crab Cakes !”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and I recently spent a week in Washington DC. One of our objectives was to treat ourselves to some good restaurant visits while we were there.

One of the best restaurants we tried was the Juniper in the Fairmont Hotel. We were there for dinner over the holidays when the restaurant had a reduced menu, but this did not pose a problem. They claim to have the best crab cakes on the East Coast, and this may be true. They were fabulous!

Juniper is a light and airy space with a lot of mirrors. The staff was cheerful and very helpful. Although this is the hotel’s main restaurant, it doesn’t have that sort of feel. It would also be a great venue for a business lunch as it has a quiet and refined atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Juniper also viewed

Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Juniper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing