We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Breakfast or Lunch”

Bread & Chocolate - M St. NW
Ranked #8 of 86 Dessert in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Spring Lake, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great for Breakfast or Lunch”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is a bakery with seating indoors and out, catering to light fare. The food was very good and the prices were reasonable for a city location. The kitchen was slow but the service was good.
The cakes looked delicious and were reasonable priced, again for a city location

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank NJWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    113
    47
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syosset, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Half-price yummy's after 7 PM”
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

Walking around Washington at 7 PM when we were hit with the urge to have something sweet in a cup of coffee. We stopped in Bread and Chocolate and were offered a variety of pastries at half-price. I had a lemon tart that was absolutely delicious along with a latte. My my wife just had a glass of iced coffee.
The waitstaff was very attentive and the whole experience was enjoyable

Helpful?
1 Thank sidejobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth the price”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The weekend menu that includes a basket of sweets, coffee and juice was a good deal for the price. The food was amazing and the server was very friendly.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MicheleFaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce, Texas
Level Contributor
135 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Ehh - maybe better during day ”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Went here in evening cause it is open until 9. What we originally ordered they did not have and then what we ended up with (sandwiches) were less than mediocre. Desserts were alright. Kudos to the rugelach. Not worth any extra effort to walk to

Helpful?
Thank Sistersonatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Terrific breakfast!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Staying at the nearby Fairmont, our concierge recommended this place for breakfast. We could not have been happier with it. We actually wound up eating there every morning of our stay. The noise from the construction next door was slightly annoying, but the quality of the food and service was top notch.

I'd recommend the berkermusli (?) - yogurt mixed with oats and fruit. I'd never had it before but now am looking to make it at home. Excellent! Family also enjoyed the chocolate french toast and the omelettes. Good coffee too!

Really a great little place. Corner of 23rd and M. Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kurt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bread & Chocolate - M St. NW also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Bread & Chocolate - M St. NW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing