We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient”

Bread & Chocolate - M St. NW
Ranked #9 of 87 Dessert in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Planet Earth Wannabe
Level Contributor
99 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Convenient”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Around the corner from the Fairmont, Westin etc good for a breakfast, or a quick lunch.
Reasonable prices, good selection and friendly staff

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuzyPoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    110
    47
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Decent local lunch eaterie”
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Tried the tuna melt crostini style dish. Tuna was a little bland but accompanying side salad was lovely. They serve a killer espresso and the service was great. Nice low key place if you don't fancy some of the posher hotel options nearby.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our go to diner”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Bread & Chocolate was located a block from the Washington Marriott. The food was above average for a diner and was where we went when the family couldn't decide on a good quick meal.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice sandwiches close to hotels”
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Walked here from my hotel a few times. They have amazing desserts that are so hard to resist and really delicious sandwiches. The staff is efficient but doesn't have much to say. The atmosphere is really nice and cozy and it's conveniently located close to some of the Georgetown hotels like Fairmont and Westin.

Helpful?
Thank Terri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Great Find!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were delighted to be able to get a table for five outside on a balmy Indian Summer day for Sunday brunch, in spite of the restaurant's popularity, and I think it must be because the service is efficient. We loved the baskets of goodies, from pain au chocolat to whole wheat bread--that came with the brunch menu, and each of us loved our choice of main course. I recommend the Very Berry French Toast--the best French Toast I have ever had, made with brioche. The crowd was good for people-watching, too!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MadameCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bread & Chocolate - M St. NW also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Bread & Chocolate - M St. NW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing