We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gourmet sandwiches”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Breadline

Breadline
Ranked #942 of 3,196 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $8 - $8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2,742 reviews
1,088 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,501 helpful votes
“Gourmet sandwiches”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

It's a good place to grab a gourmet sandwich. They have many choices. I love the smoked salmon sandwich with goat cheese.
And the bread is also very good and artisanal.
It's a little busy at noon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HelenaGuerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    27
    12
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
172 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“great sandwiches! no atmosphere...”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is an excellent place for a relatively quick lunch if you want a better alternative to fast food. Portions are ginormous. Good fries, creative sandwiches...but definitely not health food and definitely not fine dining.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisak12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blueys Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
263 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Perfect sandwiches, mouthwatering, luscious, delicious”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stumbled across Breadline, a true gourmet paradise. This is a very trendy cafe selling the most delectable sandwiches on a variety of artisanale breads. It was very crowded at lunchtime with what appeared to be mainly office workers. The service is quick with lots of staff preparing the food. I ordered the prosciutto di parma with marscarpone, swiss and fig jam on walnut bread. A most amazing sandwich. My husband had the freshly roasted turkey.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good salads made to order”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

My food review will be limited as I only had salad and so did my sister in law. The lunch line was long and after determining which line to stand in (salad or sandwiches etc), we took our place behind business folk. The queue moved quickly and the server places scoops of pre made specialty salads (tomato-mozzerella, couscous, tabouli or greek) on top of your mixed greens. The serve-yourself style can be overwhelming for a first timer. The food was fresh and appeared of good quality. The side rolls are made in-house. Some items are organic. One scoop of specialty on a bed of greens with tap-water was $10.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrauMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fresh sandwhiches that are huge!”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Visited the Breadline for a couple of breakfast sandwiches to go this past week. They were very fresh and filled me up for the entire day. The bread was fresh ( although ciabatta is not my favorite). They are a little pricey but you get what you pay for.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dbgindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breadline also viewed

Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Breadline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing