We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hits the spot”
Review of The Diner

The Diner
Ranked #282 of 3,228 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Neighborhood: Adams Morgan
AUSTIN
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Hits the spot”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

When I asked for breakfast recommendations at my hotel, I was given two suggestion and directed to the other place first but I felt drawn to The Diner so I checked it out on day 2of my visit. My intuition proved correct. It's a quaint little local place. The waitress said the had only been open for 12 years but the decore was original to the ?100+ year old building and the menu menu was solid American fare with a few modern updates. I was there on a quiet Monday morning but I guessing it's hopin on the weekend.

Helpful?
Thank AuxTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    119
    47
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Food and Service”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Friendly service, very good food and a pleasant atmosphere made this the perfect location for our first breakfast in DC.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tolotaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
159 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Turkey burger gets me there every couple weeks.”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

A great traditional diner menu. I like the turkey burger. Fresh. Gets it with the tater tots. Friendly service.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great start of the day”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Busy place, but short wait. Great service, the food was very tasty, alot on the menu to choose from, in a nice neighborhood, open & airy front dining, and really inexpensive. "The Diner" is a great place to start the day!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patrck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“So-so but open 24/7”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

From the looks of this place you might guess that either (1) it's the only restaurant in DC, or (2) it's the greatest restaurant in DC. Neither is true.

Located on 18th Street in the Adams Morgan neighborhood, The Diner's greatest strength is that it's open all the time - so no matter when you're hungry, they've got you covered. The food and service, however, are strictly average. The menu is an extensive list of American choices, lots of diner (no pun intended) food, meat-and-two sorts of things, all of it decent but none of it memorable - and the presentation is uneven, sometimes fine but sometimes you might think they have the third string working the kitchen. The same goes for the service - sometimes it's decent, but it's never really attentive, and sometimes you may think your server has gone home for the day. Prices are neither exorbitant nor bargain. There is both table and counter service. The wait for weekend brunch can be over an hour.

With these caveats, I would recommend this place for someone who's in the neighborhood and wants a quick bite or a late dessert, for a group of friends with varying tastes who can't otherwise agree, etc. It has a huge neighborhood following so is pretty sure to still be in business by the time you get there. And I might be there, too - even if it wouldn't have been my first choice.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GaNavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Diner also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to The Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing