We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great pizza but too loud and too family friendly!”
Review of Two Amys

Two Amys
Ranked #170 of 3,215 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“great pizza but too loud and too family friendly!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I actually LOVE 2 Amy's for their pizza but everytime we go there is always a group of parents and their kids that are so loud and leave the table and floor a mess that it actually disgusts me and I had children but would never have left a restaurant floor looking like these young parents do at 2 Amy's! This past time we had one family group of about 8 whose kids were all playing with their hand held computer games and were loud and making a mess...and then another table of about 10 where the kids were actually coloring!!! but still were loud and made a mess on the floor...this is NOT a PLACE to have any kind of a decent conversation that can be heard....so go in for the great pizza, know that the place is way too loud and too family friendly and then go home and have that red glass of wine in the comfort and quiet of your own home...or better yet, do take out pizza!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MTSBMTSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    151
    50
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Order a carafe of the house wine”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Great pizza with thin, chewy crust. We ordered the "pizza wine" and found it affordable and the perfect complement to our pizza. So many places in DC serve Yellow Tail-ish house wine that this is a real treat. Excited to try 2 Amy's sister restaurant, Etto, on 14th Street.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good pizza in DC”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Very good pizza ! Flavors and crust are exceptional. Would recommend this place for just dinner or a special occasion. The choices and prices are very reasonable. You will have a great meal either to stay or to go.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jiev16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Perfect Pizza”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Always consistent in execution. Anything but run of the mill. The crust has a wonderful flavor all it's own and the toppings are always fresh and flavorful. Service has always been great which helps to complete the experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank x-Walter-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
425 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“When pizza dies and goes to heaven this is what it becomes”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We took a friend here to lunch over Labor Day weekend. We've eaten here before but it's been maybe 8 years. I have to say it's as amazing as it was 8 years ago. We started with an arugula salad which was incredible – bitter, but sour and also salty. The flavors were perfect. Then all of us got the same pizza because no one wanted to share: it was squash blossoms, zucchini, tomatoes and burrata. The crust is so quickly baked it's the perfect combo of chewy and crispy. For dessert we split the cannoli (filled on the spot as it should be and with a lovely citron flavor), the cookies (a biscotti, a ginger snap, and a coconut topped almond cookie) and then the almond cake with cherry compote and freshly made vanilla ice cream. I was so sad to be full I wanted to start over again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wombat1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Amys also viewed

 

Been to Two Amys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing