We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Pizza in DC”
Review of Two Amys

Two Amys
Ranked #179 of 3,216 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in DC”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Best Italian style pizza outside of Italy would probably be more accurate. It's in a very out of the way spot, but if you're in Cleveland Park/Friendship Heights area and not afraid of taking a bus or walking a stretch, it's more than worth it. It's also mostly tourist-free as I remember, which makes the odd location worth it. The pizzas are perfectly cooked, with a really cool mix of ingredient options. You know the place is legit by the cured hoofs hanging around the bar. Yum!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emilyelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    152
    50
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Service Industry Favorite”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

You know you are in the right place when every worker you ask at every other great restaurant recommends this place and they go there.Great charcuterie, pizza, and beer. Definitely worth a visit...one of my favorite places

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dweedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A must for Italian cuisine lovers”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I live in DC and can't get enough of the place! I go every chance I get when I want good quality pizza. I would recommend it to anyone visiting DC.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CellarDoor18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
1,097 reviews
657 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“close to National Cathedral”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Reminds me of Mia in Bethesda or Keste in NY delicious pizza with very well-done crust-yum. In season, outdoor tables. If it looks crowded, remember there are tables upstairs. You'll do well to arrive on early side for dinner or for lunch.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nycmom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
477 reviews
342 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Good, but did not match the hype as the Best”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

I've always heard that, as a pizza lover, I needed to try 2Amys. Went with friends on a cold Saturday afternoon. Perhaps I have been spoiled by pizza from 7th Hill when Anthony Pilla was the pizza chef there, but I was unimpressed by 2Amy. Better than average, but not the Best in DC in my opinion. It is good pizza and service was good, but the hype did not match the pizza. I can say that I have had this pizza, but not good enough for a return. If you go, ask to sit upstairs. Comfortable and a bit quieter. Also order the oven roasted olives, they were excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Joseph F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Amys also viewed

 

Been to Two Amys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing