We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“expanded my tastes” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritage India

Heritage India
Ranked #856 of 3,189 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $7 - $32
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Calvert St.
Description: Discover Heritage India, a restaurant selected by the Washingtonian as one of the "100 Very Best Restaurants" and as a Blue Ribbon Award Winner. Heritage India is one of the best of its kind in the area, featuring a menu that can make classic dishes taste like brand new concepts. Appetizers include calamari sauteed with a hint of coconut and lemon, or cilantro and mint. Traditional fare includes Tandoori and curry dishes such as Jumbo Prawns and the ever popular Lamb Vindaloo. Vegetarians will be happy with the extensive selections.Our full bar and lounge offers an extensive wine list, beer and cocktails. Join us for an all you can eat weekend brunch with or without bottomless drinks.
nola
Level Contributor
161 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“expanded my tastes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

like most people, i guess, we live in a city that has just about every culture and every culture's food. not too much indian food though - at least not this good.the setting is good too. not too expensive ( for DC ). no its not all curry and even if it is, there are so many kinds of curry you're sure to find one you like.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank williamNola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    44
    15
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rich, tantalizing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Creamy curries spiced to perfection... go here if you like your Indian food rich and skillfully prepared.

A little pricey but a good date night in Glover Park, and well worth it. You probably won't find better Indian food in DC.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JuneauSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food. But expensive. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Wish the prices were less. I love the food. But for rasika prices, and not the quality. I wish they tamed it down a bit and I would go weekly. Everything seems to be a la carte. Wish you ordered a meat and got rice and naan with it.

Helpful?
Thank acroglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food and a great price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

The lunch specials are amazing! We had the Makhani and Nilgiri curries and can't wait until our next visit. Definitely try the Bhel puri as an appetizer if you have never had it- so unusual and so delicious!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kelley9733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Restaurant in NW DC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Heritage seems to have merged with Malgudi, so you can try both northern and southern indian food in one place. We went twice last week, thinking they were two separate restaurants. The food is excellent, though we aren't real experts on Indian cuisine. We especially liked two cauliflower dishes, the okra, the chicken tikka masala, and the dhosa, which is tasty, but better to look at than eat. The service was great on one occasion, terribly slow on the other, even though the restaurant wasn't crowded. A warning to anyone who has trouble with stairs - there is no elevator and the restaurant is up two fights of stairs.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mkg2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sangeev T, Owner at Heritage India, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
The good thing is you don't have to be experts on Indian cuisine to enjoy our food. Thanks for this review, we're happy to hear you were pleased by your dishes. We appreciate your feedback on the service – there's no reason why your service was inconsistent. Nonetheless, it's something we'll continue to work on and improve.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Thanks again,
Mitul and Sanjeev, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage India also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Heritage India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing