We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heritage #2”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Heritage India

Heritage India
Ranked #964 of 3,199 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $7 - $32
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Calvert St.
Description: Discover Heritage India, a restaurant selected by the Washingtonian as one of the "100 Very Best Restaurants" and as a Blue Ribbon Award Winner. Heritage India is one of the best of its kind in the area, featuring a menu that can make classic dishes taste like brand new concepts. Appetizers include calamari sauteed with a hint of coconut and lemon, or cilantro and mint. Traditional fare includes Tandoori and curry dishes such as Jumbo Prawns and the ever popular Lamb Vindaloo. Vegetarians will be happy with the extensive selections.Our full bar and lounge offers an extensive wine list, beer and cocktails. Join us for an all you can eat weekend brunch with or without bottomless drinks.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Heritage #2”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We found a second new Heritage India on 19th at Pennsylvania in DC following the 4th of July Fireworks on the Mall. They were open late and the food was as good as the main restaurant on Connecticut Ave. This location had sidewalk seating which is always good for people watching in DC. If you like indian, Heritage is the place to go in DC, either location.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hunky17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sangeev T, Owner at Heritage India, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Please accept our apologies for the late response to your review from July. We're glad you've found our Pennsylvania Ave. location. Did you know we have even more than that? You should stop by all of them and compare. We'd love to know what you think. Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We hope to see you soon. Best, Mitul and Sanjeev, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    44
    16
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
118 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Ate way too much!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

There were 4 of us that went for dinner on Thursday. We each ordered what we wanted, but ended up sharing. Aloo Gobi Masala, Tandoori Prawns, Lal Tikka, and Biryani with Chicken. We also had Butter and regular Naan, Steamed Basmati Rice, Lemon Rice, Raisin Tomato Chutney and Mango Lassis. We walked out of there with bursting bellies! We enjoyed every dish.
The food was very good and there was plenty of it. The menu could be clearer for those that are not familiar with Indian dishes. They had 2 menus. 1 for northern and 1 for southern India. Our party asked numerous questions before we ordered. I thought the spice was just right. It had great flavor, but was much tamer than many Indian restaurants I have been to. I was surprised that Naan and Rice do not come with the Entrees. I guess when you have so many options, it is easier to have it separate.
They were not busy when we were in there, so we had 2 waiters at our beck and call. The atmosphere was nice for good conversation.
Negative, The bathroom is located through a door and down the hall. I dont think they heat that part of the building. It was freezing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Lovely atmosphere, delicious food, and great service. I think it is a better value at lunch time, but we splurged for dinner as it was our anniversary. They offer several types of curries made to the level of heat you desire. The thali menu is great if you want to try small portions of several different dishes. The naan is out of this world. And bhel puri is my new favorite starter! Whenever we are in DC we will definitely eat here again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelley9733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sangeev T, Owner at Heritage India, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thanks for this review! Sorry it's taken us a while to respond, we're just now seeing it. We're happy you and your husband enjoyed your time with us for your anniversary. We're honored you chose to share it with us! Whether for lunch or for dinner, we're looking forward to your next visit with us.

Thanks again,
Mitul and Sangeev, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stumbled on this restaurant for lunch and so glad we did.
Great service, great food.
We had a 10yr old with us and found the spiciness of the dishes exactly as we expected.Our waitress gave us all the info we needed and all enjoyed the dishes we shared.
Only wish we had time in DC to go back for more!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherapps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Food was ok, but Dahi Vada and Pani Puri was out of the world!!! Atleast for someone travelling from FL.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vishesh V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage India also viewed

 

Been to Heritage India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing