We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Obviously the place to do Bis”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bistro Bis

Bistro Bis
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro Bis is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 3,199 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $50
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Cross street: New Jersey & North Capitol
Transit: Union Station
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Obviously the place to do Bis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

A very enjoyable experience for good food and people watching.
I see from my receipt that my server was Grace, she was a joy too. Management please take note! Does she deserve a raise or what?

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ericBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    247
    73
    27
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of our favorites in DC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Have eaten here before, both lunch and dinner. Each meal has been excellent. While we skipped appetizers this visit, highly recommend either the beet salad or the endive salad. Entrees were sea bass, trout and Socca Crepes Provencale. All were excellent. While normally not dessert types, truly enjoyed the profiteroles and the petit fours plates. Excellent, professional wait staff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stashu40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good French restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Great service. Food was very good. Lobster bisque wasn't warm enough, otherwise meal was good. Upon entering, we walked past a tray of artisanal cheeses covered by a large plastic dome. The cheeses looked yummy, but there was a VERY LARGE FLY trapped in side plastic dome. I told our hostess and she didn't really acknowledge or take action. This keeps them from getting 5 stars today.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jgstewartmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton
Level Contributor
137 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Nice French Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We ate our first meal in DC at the Bistro Bis mainly because we were staying at The George and I had read decent reviews concerning their food. My husband's choice for dinner was steak frites-pan roasted sirloin strip with pommes frites and I chose the beef bourguignon-boneless short ribs braised in red wine. We split a strawberry tart with rhubarb ice cream with sauce for dessert. It was a good meal but not the best that we've had for such a high price. The atmosphere and service is exceptional and that certainly made it a nice meal. Ryan was our server and he was very attentive & pleasant to deal with. Our hostess was sweet and one of the managers came by our table to check on us. Very pleasant staff and available if needed. I would still recommend Bistro Bis. Maybe next time we'll try lunch and sit outside to eat and people watch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lwooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, NJ
Level Contributor
187 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“lovely French restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

excellent service, pricey but delicious and imaginative food. I recently stopped in to check the lunch menu and mentioned to my husband that it would be nice to eat outside on such a lovely day. The manager noted that he had a small outside area so he suggested a few nearby restaurants. We were so impressed with his great customer service that we returned for dinner and loved it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jillef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Bis also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Bistro Bis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing