We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Naan, Pricey Plum Wine”

Teaism Dupont Circle
Ranked #387 of 3,229 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: Teaism is a local group of restaurants with three locations in DC. We're devoted to serving top quality loose leaf tea and healthy, cooked-from-scratch food. In a casual and funky setting, we are open through the day for breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner. A refuge for regulars and tourists alike, the restaurant features bento boxes, curries, sandwiches and salads. We're going "clean" eliminating high-fructose corn syrup, trans fats, antibiotics and GMOs and adding as much local and organic as possible. Be sure to enjoy one of our world famous Salty Oat Cookies!
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious Naan, Pricey Plum Wine”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I frequently enjoy this restaurant as a lunch spot with colleagues. Last Saturday I stopped in with a friend. We had vegetable rolls (delicious) and naan with mango chutney (also delicious). I ordered the plum wine, and it was served in something a little bigger than a shot glass. Not worth the money. They do have a wonderful selection of teas, and the service is quick and efficient. And the place is always clean.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    59
    35
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Queen's tea and scones!!”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Afternoon tea with cucumber sandwiches, scones and cookies - loved the quaint style.
It's a great place for tea/chai in a city that's full of coffee places. Enjoyed my chai!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank treetops1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda N, Owner at Teaism Dupont Circle, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
I'm glad you liked the tea and scones. Our chai is cooked from scratch all through the day - black tea with freshly ground spices, milk and sugar. We make it in big 5 gallon batches. The scones are also baked each morning and we are working on a vegan scone for our vegan/vegetarian friends. Please visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really Sad the Menu has changed -- would have been five stars in 2012”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Teaism and especially the Salmon Bento Boxes on R Street used to be my favorite place to go for my favorite meal. But recent menu changes are off-putting. They have removed the wonderful sauce that used to be on the salmon in the Bento box, the salmon seems dry, the chicken seems dry, the spinach seems dry, the cucumber is cut way too thick (used to be much finer) and they have sadly stopped serving edamame altogether. My grandchildren and I used to frequent Teaism whenever we could, especially for the salmon bento boxes. We have no incentive to go anymore -- the spinach is an okay substitute for the eamame if cooked nicely (but why did you need to drop edamame) but the new sauce on the salmon is unappetizing whereas the old one was delectable. If it "ain't broke, why fix it?' The menu was great -- why change it?

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Pinguino000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fresh, Quick, Tasty”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Asian-flavored lunch that's hard to beat. Popular but the line moves quickly and the food is worth the wait. Loved the cold Salmon Bento Box, almost too much for lunch but too good to leave anything behind...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Yum!!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Was in DC for the inauguration -- it was frigid that week!! Went to Teaism for lunch. The ginger carrot soup was divine and hit the spot. The beef kabob plate was also wonderful. We sat downstairs by the koi pond because seating upstairs by the front door was freezing. My friend had the salmon bento box which she enjoyed and devoured the ginger scones. Those giant cookies looked delicious but I didnt indulge....

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lel7176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teaism Dupont Circle also viewed

 

Been to Teaism Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing