We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing art garden!”

National Gallery of Art - Sculpture Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Taste of DC Segway Tour
Ranked #47 of 443 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
147 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Amazing art garden!”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I had a splendid afternoon here! I was in art wonderland for a couple of hours until we were kicked out at around 4:30 at closing time.

As a pop art fan, it is a feast for the senses - everyone is represented from Robert Indiana to Claes Oldenburg to Lichtenstein to Miro. The garden is well-curated with the fountain as its centerpiece and benches all around that you can sit on and admire these magnificent pieces. I really loved The Spider by Louise Bourgeois - the scene made me feel like I was standing in the Tuileries. There is also a Metro sign by the cafe, very reminiscent of Paris.

I will grab a lunch bag and enjoy it here the next time I am in town especially when the weather is nice.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    154
    39
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to rest your feet and fill your belly!”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This place was so relaxing I could have fallen asleep right on the concrete benches surrounding the pool! I was lounging in the shade as my daughter soaked her feet. After a while I laid down and enjoyed the warmth of the concrete. There's a yummy little cafe nearby where I had a delicious gourmet style salad, too. This is a must-see/must-relax place if you are in need of a break or lunch. So relaxing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mommyofacrazy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
617 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Relax, snack, and observe - a great "rest stop" near the Gallery!!!”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Whether it's the sculpture of a circular eraser with a brush (circa 1950's-1960's) or a house that changes shape depending how you view it, or it's the wonderful water fountains and restaurant, you'll find this place a wonderful respite to re-invigorate and re-charge you for continued touristy endeavors. Located just off the Mall and next to the National Gallery of Art (now that's worth a visit) this lovely outside attraction is especially welcome in the hot summer tourist season, providing some tranquility and low-key entertainment while cooling off.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TonyK300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
164 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great place to enjoy a quiet lunch”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

If you want a pleasant environment to eat lunch, read a book or just to relax, come here. It's peaceful, it's tranquil and there's an overpriced cafe on the grounds.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mark_kerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce, Texas
Level Contributor
135 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Perfect break ”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Cool your feet from walking in the pool and people watch!! Across street from archives so you around a lot if school age kids on tours! Only problem was that it closes at 5:00!!

Helpful?
Thank Sistersonatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Gallery of Art - Sculpture Garden also viewed

 

Been to National Gallery of Art - Sculpture Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing