We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of Zaytinya

Zaytinya
Reserve a table
2
Wed, 12/1
8:00 PM
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #46 of 3,441 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Cross street: G St.
Transit: Gallery Place/Chinatown station. 9 th & G St exit on the red, green and yellow lines.
Description: Zaytinya offers an innovative mezze menu inspired by Turkish, Greek and Lebanese cuisines, under the direction of renowned chef José Andrés, served up in a sleek and modern setting. Shared small plates, creative cocktails and unique Mediterranean wines make this spot one of DC’s top dining destinations.
Reviewed August 22, 2016

Zaytinya is magical! The cuisine is all small plates, of Mediterranean inspired foods. There are many vegetable based items, as well as seafood, lamb, chicken, etc. The craft cocktails are inventive and delicious. The wait staff are among the best I have encountered - attentive but not overbearing; knowledgable about the menu; and personable. This Jose Andres restaurant is beautiful.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank BLSRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (4,473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,297 - 1,301 of 4,474 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2016

$22 for a delicious 4-course (not-so-small) tapas-style menu is excellent value, so if you are in D.C. over Restaurant Week (usually held twice a year in February and August) make sure to stop by Zaytinya (among others, see my other reviews).

The menu was quite extensive, but we were a large group and tried pretty much everything, and all dishes were delicious. You cannot go wrong!

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MarkamBey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2016

Lovely food and wonderful things to try. We had a tasting menu that allowed us to try and share lots of different things. The staff was remarkable and made the experience even better.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KarenB194
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2016 via mobile

Visited Zaytinya on a Saturday evening for an early dinner before we went to a show. Made reservations on Open Table. Host/hostesses were great and service was prompt. The restaurant was quite busy around 5:30pm - so they must be doing something right. Just having returned from the Mediterranean, I wanted my mom to experience a little of what I experienced. We had a lovely time, enjoyed the hot fresh flat bread, my favorite - not heavy and forgiving. Ordered the hummus with a spiced Jamison lamb and pine nuts and another dish; baba gannouch - an eggplant dish made with tahini, lemon and garlic (but somehow there was a bit too much lemon in both the hummus and baba gannouch tapas dishes). But we loved the shrimp and lovely goat dishes recommended by the waiter. Wish we had more time or more room to try some other items on the menu.
All in all, it was a lovely time as always and definitely a place to take friends, family, celebrate an occasion or just hang out. Not cheap and not outrageously expensive. You can feel free to dress up or dress casually and definitely don't waste time looking for a parking space, use their parking attendants' service. Enjoy!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank 875karyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2016

Always a great meal here in a beautiful setting. Not quite a Greek Island but the blue paint and abundant sunlight help create the mood. Food is very good and interesting.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank 280JulieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaytinya also viewed

 

Been to Zaytinya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.