We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food . Very inventive.”
Review of Zaytinya

Zaytinya
Reserve with OpenTable
Zaytinya is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 3,257 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Cross street: G St.
Transit: Gallery Place/Chinatown station. 9 th & G St exit on the red, green and yellow lines.
Description: Zaytinya offers an innovative mezze menu inspired by Turkish, Greek and Lebanese cuisines, under the direction of renowned chef José Andrés, served up in a sleek and modern setting. Shared small plates, creative cocktails and unique Mediterranean wines make this spot one of DC’s top dining destinations.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Amazing food . Very inventive.”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

I went to visit Zaytinya for restaurant week. Overall it was an amazing experience.

The atmosphere was very nice, however it was loud inside the restaurant. The wait was minimal as we had reservations.

The food was 4 courses plus desert . Lots of protein on the menu. Some of the highlights were the salmon Zanzibar , the shrimp in the wonderful lemon sauce and the crispy broccoli that the waiter insisted we tried. I also had a basil martini which was amazing.I found four courses too much food, however it was delicious.

The value was reasonable considering it was restaurant week otherwise it would have been expensive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shakeel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,203
    1,052
    258
    77
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hazlet, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Magnificent Mediterranean!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Was staying in DC for a conference and our group decided to venture out for a bite to eat. What a great choice. We were seated promptly (recommend a reservation) and found the ambiance was delightful. We had a few people who were not food adventurous and they had enough choices to satisfy. Every dish we ordered was great. With 7 of us, we each ordered 3-4 plates and shared so we covered a lot of ground. Highly recommend!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lovefood1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food with boisterous atmosphere”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Food was great and if you like loud, happening restaurants, it is great. So, you would not go here for a relaxing intimate dinner. Only compliant was the wait staff was not attentive at all and almost condescending. Perhaps because we were the only over 50s in the restaurant!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank hotelsnob6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and ambiance!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I came to the restaurant during DC's restaurant week - the fixed-price menu had plenty of choices. We each ordered something different - I got to try about 8 different dishes and I have to say that I enjoyed every one of them. Highly recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caminantErrante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nothing but excellence during our visit!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised to discover that our reservation made well in advance happened to fall during restaurant week. The pre-selected menu was amazing- four dishes in five different courses, and all for only about $35 per person. The crispy brussel sprouts were especially good, but everything was delicious so it's difficult to pick a standout. Service was excellent, as were the special cocktails! Atmosphere was upscale but comfy- it was a bit loud however, which occasionally hindered conversation. Overall a wonderful restaurant- we would definitely return for more!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slbpetvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaytinya also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Zaytinya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing