We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent variety and flavors!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Zaytinya

Zaytinya
Reserve with OpenTable
Zaytinya is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 3,199 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Cross street: G St.
Transit: Gallery Place/Chinatown station. 9 th & G St exit on the red, green and yellow lines.
Description: Zaytinya offers an innovative mezze menu inspired by Turkish, Greek and Lebanese cuisines, under the direction of renowned chef José Andrés, served up in a sleek and modern setting. Shared small plates, creative cocktails and unique Mediterranean wines make this spot one of DC’s top dining destinations.
Fort Myers, FL
Level Contributor
157 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Excellent variety and flavors!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

My chef husband selected celebrity chef Jose Andres' restaurant for dinner while we were in DC. Great pick! The food was amazing, with fresh ingredients and amazing flavor combinations. Our favorite dish was the "Seared Halloumi Cheese" with fruits, dates, nuts, mint... mmm! Of course we loved the puffy, fresh-from-the-oven pita bread.

Great service, really reasonable prices, and an adventure in dining. I would love to eat at zatynia again!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 4hersheybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,118
    1,016
    249
    72
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Our family stumbled across Zatynia by accident for dinner on a Saturday night and were so glad we did. We were seated immediately and were constantly given attention by the waitstaff from fresh water to pita bread. Our server, Amy, was amazing. She recommended a family style platter or lamb, chicken, lamb meatballs, and beef and lamb meatballs with a variety of side dishes. If you or your kids don't like brussel sprouts, cauliflower, or couscous you need to try them here. Yum! We also tried the Greek olives dressed with fresh herbs and homemade hummos. My husband had a beer while I tried the 3 PM in Istanbul cocktail. A beautiful pink confection arrived in a vintage champagne glass and made me feel like I was stepping back in time to a more sophisticated era. It was that good. We decided to splurge and got the mezze portion of all the desserts (four) in all that resulted in a bite or two of each. They were all fantastic, but the rose ice cream was amazing. The adults thought the restaurant was fabulous but for two kids to absolutely clean their plates was proof enough for us to come back. Can't wait to return!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bermudalovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting Mediterranean restaurant at the heart of DC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Nice decor.
Food was good and waiter was helpful I explaining the menu. There were no entree options , so people tended to order one veg dish and one protein/meaty dish.
I wouldn't order the mushroom dish though, as the portion is quite small and quality was average. Lamb shrank was delicious.
Not too pricey if you don't drink alcohol.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JWHY234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Taste Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Every dish we were served was a taste treat. The little plates offer you an opportunity to sample many foods. Our server, Rebecca was great. She made terrific suggestions and she made sure that everything was to our liking. We also enjoyed the fact that the dishes came out as they were ready. So everything was served fresh and hot and not all at once. The only down side is that it is very noisy and hard to have a conversation. However, I will return again and again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely mezze”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We sat outside with a friend who was a regular and knew the menu well, but our waitress was really brilliant and came up with new recommendations and suggestions for things to try. Great cocktails - turkish storm is one to try!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank helenavm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaytinya also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Zaytinya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing