We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great”
Review of Zaytinya

Zaytinya
Reserve with OpenTable
Zaytinya is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 3,257 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Cross street: G St.
Transit: Gallery Place/Chinatown station. 9 th & G St exit on the red, green and yellow lines.
Description: Zaytinya offers an innovative mezze menu inspired by Turkish, Greek and Lebanese cuisines, under the direction of renowned chef José Andrés, served up in a sleek and modern setting. Shared small plates, creative cocktails and unique Mediterranean wines make this spot one of DC’s top dining destinations.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good but not great”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

A wide variety of well prepared mezze ( appetizers) served in a noisy, crowded, space by servers with an attitude. That about sums up my experience. This is by no means great food. It is good by DC standard but when you compare this mezze with what is served in Aleppo, Beirut, Cairo , Dubai or even NYC it falls short. Mezze is generally served when all the dishes are served at one time and not the way it trickles painfully at Zaitinya. Is it inexpensive ? Yes, but considering that most of this food is not made to order, and the ingredients are rather inexpensive, it may be a bit even over-priced. So lower your expectations, be prepared for long wait times and poor service. But food is OK.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Asim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,202
    1,052
    258
    77
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
MidWest
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Greek Tapas! Bar and Patio open for walk ins”
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

We couldnt get a reservation because they were booked over a week in advance, but we walked in at 5 and were seated right away. This was the worst service I've ever had in that our waiter was too busy flirting with bar customers and the food was coming out of the kitchen too fast - with tapas, I normally like the experience of things coming out slowly one by one.

The food itself was good, nothing blew us away. We had the eggplant hummus (pretty good), sausage pizza (great but slightly salty), chicken orzo. (delicious), scallops (fresh but not that much flavor and only 2- would skip next time) and the lamb meatballs (good but I've had better).

The atmosphere was okay. It's very light inside.

I would probably go back. I enjoyed Jaleo just as much - the food was better paced there and just as good, but I liked that this was Greek tapas as opposed to more common tapas.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ICanBeCritical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My kids and I went in for lunch on a Saturday and we all really enjoyed it. My son had the 4 course lunch and texted his friends about how great it was. They don't have a kids' menu but my kids don't mind eating off the regular menu. It's a little pricey for lunch, but the food is worth it. Service is a bit slow so don't be in a rush when you go.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CityGirl53156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch place”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

During a recent stay in Washington, had lunch at "Zaytinya". Great reasonably priced Greek-Mediterranean small plate/ "mezze" lunch/dinner place. The outside sitting was great with white "sails" as umbrellas.
Must try: the salads, garides saganaki, kotopoulo youvetsi, and santorini fava and squash soup.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suzq23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fantastic mezze!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Ate lunch here, and each dish was more interesting an beautiful than the last! The food was excellent, as was the service. The only danger at such a restaurant is that one has a tendency to order too much food! We didn't have room for dessert!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaytinya also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Zaytinya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing