We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good meal”
Review of Zaytinya

Zaytinya
Reserve with OpenTable
Zaytinya is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 3,237 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Cross street: G St.
Transit: Gallery Place/Chinatown station. 9 th & G St exit on the red, green and yellow lines.
Description: Zaytinya offers an innovative mezze menu inspired by Turkish, Greek and Lebanese cuisines, under the direction of renowned chef José Andrés, served up in a sleek and modern setting. Shared small plates, creative cocktails and unique Mediterranean wines make this spot one of DC’s top dining destinations.
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A very good meal”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

I had a great meal here with family. I loved the brussel sprouts, shrimp and desserts. Enjoyed the price fix menu and truly enjoyed every dish we had.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JHecht712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,591 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,188
    1,047
    256
    77
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delish”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This hopping spot was so tasty. We were lucky to attend during resturant week so were able to try many small plates and each were fantastic. I loved the Kibbeh and the fresh pita bread was fantastic. Service was excellent and its a fun hip spot. Valet parking however was $12...but worth it!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TastyTraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service, good value”
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Went to Zaytinya on February 12, 2013 for a pre-Valentine's dinner. The restaurant was still doing a restaurant week special so the value was quite good. However, the service was poor. Our waiter paid very little attention to us and we had to wait unreasonable amounts of time for clean plates, a fork, and drinks. The food was good, especially the bread and oil. Except..The risotto with chicken was AWFUL. Stay away from it. Would go there again and hope for a different waiter.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelin_Aisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburban Phila
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Restaurant Week value”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

$20.13 4-course lunch for DC restaurant week was a knockout. A dish of gold-green olive oil with a surprising dark Z of pomegranate at the bottom adding sweet and sour to the olive's bite; puffy warm puri-like bread for dipping instead of the expected pitas; a lemony "horta" kale salad on top of a yellow sweet-pea puree and smoked olives; a meltaway strip of salmon with a subtle tahini-tasting sauce; 6 grilled shrimp in a light buttery sauce; and a small parfait of vanilla yogurt & apricots dusted with pistachios, wow. Turkish coffee (extra) topped off an unexpectedly fine meal. Service was attentive and friendly. Bright and open room.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ushuaian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always excellent!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Several of my friends love this place too. Every dish shines! Ingredients are fresh. I really enjoy going during Restaurant Week so I can taste several dishes. I have been multiple times and everything is consistently wonderful. I believe this restaurant is one of the city's finest. Service is always exceptional too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StacyAnn70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaytinya also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Zaytinya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing