We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I ordered the wrong thing -- stick with the pizza”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sorriso

Sorriso
Ranked #1,086 of 3,199 Restaurants in Washington DC
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
North Wildwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
451 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“I ordered the wrong thing -- stick with the pizza”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Not sure why, but I ordered the Sorriso scramble, a breakfast dish. It was thoroughly boring with not-so-crispy bacon. I should have stuck with their specialty -- pizza.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank movieglue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    24
    9
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had a great time at Sorriso. The food was excellent. They were family friendly but didn't have a kids menu. The kids had pizza. They loved it. My husband and I had sirloin steak that was cooked to perfection.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great spot in Cleveland Park!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Great meal at a reasonable price. We sat outside as the evening started to cool down. A bottle of Sauvignon Blanc and Pizza Bianca started us off. Delicious white pizza! We had the gnocchi and seafood linguini for our entrees. Very tasty. The seafood linguini was packed with clams, mussels, shrimp and squid in a spicy marinara sauce. This is a great neighborhood spot for a casual but delicious dinner. We will be back!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donbethesda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
273 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“A go-to place where you can't go wrong”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

I love Sorriso. It has all the feeling of a neighborhood joint that isn't trying to compete for special recognition in the Pizza Wars, isn't trying to make it on a reality show about Italian Dad and American kids who start a restaurant in DC. Sorriso wants to be good all on its own, it proud of its food, has loyal patrons, and prepares everything with love.

Signore Pietro is always friendly, and his son who graduated from a famous Pizza school in Italy is talented. Their pizza is authentic and delicious as are all the pastas. It's a simple place with flavors more akin to Grandma's than Marco Pierre White... and when you eat there, you remember what it was like to have an Italian grandma who always cooked for you.

At least I do... Bravo Sorriso. The name means "smile". Eat there and you will.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DCInsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly and delicious.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

Sorriso has been gracing DC's Cleveland Park neighborhood for almost 8 years. The small (68 seat) 2 story restauraunt. is nicely decorated in red tile and wrought iron.. Your hosts, Pietro and Rosmarie Polis are outgoing and friendly. (well at least Rosmariarie ) The Pizza is ultra thin and if you prefer NY thin to Chicago deep dish, this is your place. The lasgna (crepes not pasta) is ethereal. Osso Buco, and Branzino are excellent but the Cotoletto Milenesa is the star. At the top of the Cleveland Park Metro escalator it couldn't be more convenient. GO!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank psyduck1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sorriso also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Sorriso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing