We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot in Cleveland Park!”
Review of Sorriso - CLOSED

Sorriso
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great spot in Cleveland Park!”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Great meal at a reasonable price. We sat outside as the evening started to cool down. A bottle of Sauvignon Blanc and Pizza Bianca started us off. Delicious white pizza! We had the gnocchi and seafood linguini for our entrees. Very tasty. The seafood linguini was packed with clams, mussels, shrimp and squid in a spicy marinara sauce. This is a great neighborhood spot for a casual but delicious dinner. We will be back!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donbethesda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    24
    9
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“A go-to place where you can't go wrong”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

I love Sorriso. It has all the feeling of a neighborhood joint that isn't trying to compete for special recognition in the Pizza Wars, isn't trying to make it on a reality show about Italian Dad and American kids who start a restaurant in DC. Sorriso wants to be good all on its own, it proud of its food, has loyal patrons, and prepares everything with love.

Signore Pietro is always friendly, and his son who graduated from a famous Pizza school in Italy is talented. Their pizza is authentic and delicious as are all the pastas. It's a simple place with flavors more akin to Grandma's than Marco Pierre White... and when you eat there, you remember what it was like to have an Italian grandma who always cooked for you.

At least I do... Bravo Sorriso. The name means "smile". Eat there and you will.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DCInsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly and delicious.”
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Sorriso has been gracing DC's Cleveland Park neighborhood for almost 8 years. The small (68 seat) 2 story restauraunt. is nicely decorated in red tile and wrought iron.. Your hosts, Pietro and Rosmarie Polis are outgoing and friendly. (well at least Rosmariarie ) The Pizza is ultra thin and if you prefer NY thin to Chicago deep dish, this is your place. The lasgna (crepes not pasta) is ethereal. Osso Buco, and Branzino are excellent but the Cotoletto Milenesa is the star. At the top of the Cleveland Park Metro escalator it couldn't be more convenient. GO!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank psyduck1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect pizza,great food and service.”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Since the imported wood burning brick pizza oven seemed to be the draw here. We ordered a plain cheese pizza to share between five of us. The thin crust pizza came out PERFECT, no burns on the crust or cheese, it was excellent. I ordered a special of veal parm which was a whole veal chop. Again, delicious and perfectly cooked. The red sauce was a bit heavy for me, but it was full bodied and delicious. The pasta was perfectly cooked... slightly al dente (sorry if I misspelled). The location is right at the Cleveland Park red line Metro stop, which is convienent, but can make for noisey outdoor seating. WE sat inside on the second floor, and the service was quick and efficient. Water glasses were kept full by at least two people during our visit.

I hope to go back some day and try some of their other pizzas and menu items. Yum.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank feddy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
“Delicious Italian food in cozy Cleveland Park restaurant”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

One of my favorite restaurants in the area. Definitely a hidden gem in Cleveland Park. Delicious food and great atmosphere! The lasagna, fresh pizza, and homemade gelato are a few favorites.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nauger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sorriso also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing