We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They know who they are, and do it well”
Review of R.F.D. Washington

R.F.D. Washington
Ranked #673 of 3,215 Restaurants in Washington DC
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Van Wert, Ohio
Level Contributor
140 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“They know who they are, and do it well”
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Good food, cold beer, games on the televisions. Fun staff that clearly enjoy their jobs and taking care of patrons. If you're looking for an "every day" sports bar to duck out of the DC rat-race aind one-upsmanship, this is the place. My best one word description - "comfortable." Oh, and yes, an absolutely outstanding beer list. Absolutely outstanding beer list.

Helpful?
1 Thank D J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    75
    40
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Terrible service, "just okay" food”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I'm surprised others' reviews were so glowing. Our visit to RFD last weekend will be our last. Too many other great DC places to try. We stopped by on a whim for a beer, and it just went downhill from the moment we walked in the door.

Server was nonchalant and could have cared less we were there. We ordered two different types of beers, and were served two pints of the exact same one. We ordered sliders as a small bite. Sliders came, but we had no silverware or napkins, although we'd been sitting there for about 20 minutes. We had ordered the beef sliders, but initially got the buffalo chicken instead.

It seemed as if every little thing that could have gone wrong did. Maybe we just hit them on a really bad day and our server was in a foul mood. I don't know, but we won't go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rushnspkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dc
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Huge space, endless list of beers, cool sports bar”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

It's a bar with great bar-food and something for any bar fly or sports fan. Contrast to the otherwise trendy neighborhood, great to watch a game or have happy hour with colleagues, but I wouldn't got there on a date. Food, drinks and service right on the money!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelerAroundTheGlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great drinks, okay food”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Go here for great beers but remember, when eating, that it is a bar atmosphere. R.F.D. has an enormous selection of bottled beers and a pretty sizable list on tap. Everything was pretty good. Our waitress was extremely nice but could use some training on describing the different types of beers (at least the ones on tap). We ordered a plate of nachos, buffalo burger, french onion and lobster bisque soup, and calamari. The nachos were large and tasty but were not loaded with toppings (which I like to see). The buffalo burger was extremely tasty but cooked well (when I asked for medium). The soups were completely watery---like they made them from a powder (probably did). The calamari weren't overly battered but they also weren't extremely meaty. All-in-all, the food was okay. I liked the burger a lot and would go back for another, try more of their beers, and stay away from most of the appetizers & soups.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wdoerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“you can eat here- even at brunch!”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

They have an okay menu. The loaded tater tots were a favorite- bacon and cheese- i mean where do you go wrong. The fried calamari here is pretty tasty- i like a little bit more flavor but the dipping sauce paired helped with that. I enjoyed this place and i'm sure with all the beer selections- as i didn't get to try it really puts this place as a go to in DC

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Armana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed R.F.D. Washington also viewed

 

Been to R.F.D. Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing