We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, just make sure to call for reservations...”

Ella's Wood-Fired Pizza
Reserve with OpenTable
Ella's Wood-Fired Pizza is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #78 of 3,196 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Food, just make sure to call for reservations...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Food was great & the manager was very accommodating after we waited well past the quoted wait time. Realizing we were on a time crunch (I mean we had to be in/out within an hour & half) the manager squeezed us in & must have put a rush on our meal ticket because our food came out very quickly & we were able to make our event in time!! He also comped our appetizer which was very sweet & not expected. I would definitely recommend Ella's as the pizza is absolutely delicious!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Ella's Wood-Fired Pizza, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you Amber!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    235
    83
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wood fired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

The pizza was good, I just like more sauce than they pit on, maybe I should have asked for more. The waiter was very attentive. The only negative was that the hallway to the bathroom smelled like raw seafood, yucky!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mehack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxon Hill, Maryland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Good Pizza. Prefer more chicago style pizza than theirs but the pizza is still good. Nice location. Nice atmosphere.

Helpful?
1 Thank erick1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Ella's Wood-Fired Pizza, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Really good wood fire pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

My family ate here before a show at the Ford Theater. We had fried mozzarella and antipasto tray as appetizers, The antipasto was excellent a nice selection of meats and cheeses, and the fried cheese much better then expected, good mix of mozzarella, ricotta and parmesan cheeses, We all had Pizza, the Verdure and Nocia were superb, some of the best Pizza I've had anywhere, the Margherita was very good, and the Bosco (garlic, wild mushroom, tomatoes) was a loser the garlic was very harsh. The service was good and with drinks all around bill was under $100. Definitely a good spot for DC with good food at a reasonable price

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chet_Maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Ella's Wood-Fired Pizza, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
117 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Pizza!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Excellent Pizza, unique beer list and average service but worth it! If you are looking for good thin crust pizza, don't pass up this place, pizza was very good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Ella's Wood-Fired Pizza, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you, very happy to know you enjoyed our food - we appreciate you giving us a try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ella's Wood-Fired Pizza also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Ella's Wood-Fired Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing