We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Pizza!”

Ella's Wood-Fired Pizza
Reserve with OpenTable
Ella's Wood-Fired Pizza is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #83 of 3,322 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Excellent Pizza, unique beer list and average service but worth it! If you are looking for good thin crust pizza, don't pass up this place, pizza was very good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Ella's Wood-Fired Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you, very happy to know you enjoyed our food - we appreciate you giving us a try!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (623)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

351 - 355 of 624 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

We ate here our first night in DC. It is just a 5 - 10 minute walk from the Marriott Metro Center (our hotel). We (3 of us) each ordered a pizza - although the menu does offer pasta, and other menu items. Service was quick - and our waiter was very friendly. The atmosphere is pleasant, and as we left to return to our hotel (7pm -ish) the bar was getting crowded with the after work crowd. The restaurant is family friendly and unpretentious.
The prices were reasonable - $14.00 average for a pizza that will serve one person. The thin crust wood fired crust was perfect for us!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank imwmn913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Ella's Wood-Fired Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Ordered take-out here this evening after a long day spent at American Art Museum and Ford's Theater. I wanted to spare the customers of dining with my 4 overly exhausted children. The place was recommended to me by a docent at the Art Museum. We were very pleased with the food. We ordered a couple pizzas and a salad for Mom. Food was prepared quickly and the service was super. Kids loved the thin crust wood fired pizza. The salmon salad was a generous size with an abundance of vegetables and perfectly cooked salmon. We ordered 2 kid's pizzas, 1 small pizza and an entree salad. Our bill was only $32 for dinner. Everyone is happy we chose Ella's for dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sugarsnappeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Public Relations Manager at Ella's Wood-Fired Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Thank you! So happy your enjoyed everything!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

If you wish to walk 8-10 blocks off the mall area to free yourself from over priced museum cafe's which serve few options this is a great pizza/italian restaurant.

This place not only has great pizza and friendly wait staff but a nice beer list to boot. My personal favorite is Allagash White (belgium beer) and they happened to have that on tap. I ordered the salsiccia piccante pizza which had tomato sauce, fresh mozzarella, spicy italian sausage, banana peppers & red onion and was delicious and my wife ordered a salad and pepperoni pizza which she split with a friend and they were both very happy with the choices and portion sizes. There were also 3 children who all ordered their own entree's and the bill was still just over $100 (including tip, 2 beers and soda's) which I thought was very reasonable for the amount of food ordered.

We got there at 12:30pm and were fortunate to get the large table on the right but around 1pm the place got crowded and a decent wait formed. Id certainly recommend this place to anyone looking to get away from the museum mall area and have a nice affordable meal. There is even a parking garage right next door which had a very reasonable saturday rate of $13 for the whole day so we left our car there ate and toured some museums.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank voltagesls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Public Relations Manager at Ella's Wood-Fired Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for the nice review! We're very happy you enjoyed your meal, our friendly service and had a good time touring DC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We were looking for pizza while on vacation in DC and came across Ella's. The pizza was amazing and the environment relaxed and family- friendly. A great meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bankermom95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Public Relations Manager at Ella's Wood-Fired Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ella's Wood-Fired Pizza also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Ella's Wood-Fired Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing