We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best German food in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Berlin

Cafe Berlin
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Berlin is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #163 of 3,196 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: German, European, Central European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between 3rd & 4th
Transit: Union Station on the red line is only 3 short blocks away.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best German food in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

I lived in Germany as a child for 5 years. I'm hard pressed to find authentic German food in the DC area that tastes like "home". I was thrilled when I found Cafe Berlin. It's a hike for me as I live in the burbs, but it's always worth it. The staff is friendly, the food is yummy, and the beer garden atmosphere in the heart of Capitol Hill is perfect on a warm evening.

My favorite is the potato pancakes. I also get the salad sampler and wish there was a bigger portion :) My favorite entree is the schnitzel, but my husband gets the sausages and says they are fantastic. I tend to stick with the strudel for dessert (didn't like the poppy cake...weird), and of course, a nice German beer finishes off the meal. Sehr Gut!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dzturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    94
    19
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great German food in US”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have no German restaurants where we live so when on vacation we try to find one. This is a very good German restaurant, like the food I remember when in Germany! We loved the patio seating and the service was top notch. The portions were very large, we had to take some to goback to the hotel with us a midnight snack. I would recomend this small but cozy eatery to anyone loving German food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cnelson2040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
785 reviews
516 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Good lunch; low price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

It's been years since I visited Cafe Berlin, but I met a friend for lunch. Our sandwiches were very well made and quite tasty, came with potato salad and a cup of soup, and cost all of ten bucks each. Service was lovely, and the air conditioning worked on a very hot day. What else can you ask for? I gotta come back here again and try more of the menu. I can't yet speak to the rest of the menu, but I tell you that you can't go wrong at lunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jxx9595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just like Grandma used to cook”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Two of my Grandparents were German and I grew up on German food. With the passing of that generation, I hadn`t had the food that I remembered so well, until we found the Café Berlin. The food was excellent and was served in the promptest, pleasantest manner. I will return to yester-year again and again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A German restaurant worth your hard earned $”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

My wife is German and I lived in Germany for 4+ years, so we know German food and sadly we'd given up on wasting time and money trying so-called German restaurants in the US (even in Milwaukee I've been disappointed). Cafe Berlin is the first German restaurant in the US where we not only enjoyed but savored our food. I started with a house cocktail made with German Rhein wine, champagne and strawberries - really refreshing! I had a bowl of goulasch soup which was as good as (if not better than) what I had during my last visit to Germany in November 2012. And my Schlachtplatte, a combination of wursts, speck and sauerkraut with hearty housemade German mustard, was authentic and tasty! We will definitely be back. Danke schoen!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Berlin also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Cafe Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing