We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and inexpensive”
Review of Harmony Cafe

Harmony Cafe
Ranked #1,505 of 3,237 Restaurants in Washington DC
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Neighborhood: Georgetown
Tecumseh, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Peaceful and inexpensive”
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Visited here with my family, tired after a day visiting the sites. The restaurant is in the lower level of a row house and is small and not at all fancy, but the carved wooden booths were beautiful and peaceful. Food was mediocre, but we enjoyed it because we were happy to be sitting in a restaurant in Georgetown without paying a fortune.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sportyprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, NC USA
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nice downstairs place, edge of Georgetown”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

It's not very often that you can get a nice evening entree in DC for under $8, but that was the price of most everything on this menu. I had the Vegetarian Flavor Clay Pot, which I know doesn't sound too enticing, but it was really good. And plenty of food for under $8. There were 3 of us, so we shared, and all we ordered was one entree each (no appetizers, etc) and we came away perfectly happy. Everything was nice. Only one server and she was working really hard, but service was good and friendly. They could do more business with a better sign. It's a little hard to see at street level. And since it's downstairs, they should put a menu in the door so that you would know what to expect before "committing". But it's good, so no worries.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gearheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Rude”
Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Rude - very nice when you walk in, but testy if you don't order enough. Food was just ok

Helpful?
Thank Mingercat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Almost inedible chinese”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

A friend and I came in for lunch and ordered a lettuce wrap and a noodle dish. Both were very gloppy in texture, unappetizing in presentation and tasteless. If we weren't starving and pressed for time we would have walked out without taking more than a bite each. Very upsetting that our one meal in Georgetown was so very far below par.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lmrboise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing eats that are nestled amongst the Georgetown madness”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

If you want amazing food (yes, amazing and most definitely the best Chinese in DC), quiet and cozy atmosphere, low cost (a hard find in Georgetown) and impeccable service come here. I am almost afraid to review this place because I don't want the secret getting out! My best friend and I have been coming here for 5 years and we try to do it at least once a month. The same nice woman takes is always there to seat us and take our order. We have been so many times that she knows exactly what we want without saying anything. I highly recommend the shutaki mushrooms and chicken with broccoli!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skiffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harmony Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Harmony Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing