We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty Quick”

City Lights of China
Ranked #877 of 3,196 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $7 - $32
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
190 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Tasty Quick”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great menu choices, reasonable prices for downtown DC, tasty selection, and fast service. Would have been close to perfect if requested chopsticks had been sent along with the meal.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LadyinMotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    37
    24
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Food, Fast Service”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This basement restaurant is a good find. Most options include a lower fat sauteed option. The king pao saute was very good and the service was as well.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravCT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good, but not great”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was (emphasize "was") a favorite place of mine when I lived in the neighborhood sometime back. On a recent trip I took a group back here, and, sadly, it is now the same in name only. After seeing how run down it's become I avoided the pricier fish. The menu still has abundant choices but the overall quality of the food has gone down and the prices gone up. It was just very basic Chinese, nothing special about the seasoning or the service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jax848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Tasty Chinese food at friendly prices”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

As a fan of Chinese food, I was happy to have had the opportunity to eat at this small restaurant in Washington DC. The restaurant was about to close, but the manager did not mind me having the meal in the restaurant, albeit eating from the take-away 'amenities'. I had a half Peking Duck, which was certainly abundant and very tasty. I wish we had this type of Chinese restaurant in Santiago. Recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moritz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Another review recommended the Banyan leaves near DuPont circle. We stopped by on our way back to the hotel. I'm sure their food is very good but it was way out of our price range. As we continued back, we passed City Lights, looked at their menu, and went in. It's a bit of a hole in the wall so it's pretty tight. Our waiter was gracious and took our order. Our food was very fresh and bright with excellent flavor. The prices were good especially for DC standards. Someone on the street said that they were good before we went in. They were right.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Lights of China also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to City Lights of China? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing