We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great little spot”
Review of Cafe Bonaparte

Cafe Bonaparte
Ranked #365 of 3,237 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Georgetown
Cross street: P street
Transit: We're located 4 blocks north of Wisconsin Ave and M street in Georgetown between P and Volta. Accessible by the Georgetown Connector bus (get off at P street on Wisconsin Ave). Bonaparte is across the street!
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great little spot”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My daughter and I had a light lunch here - the lunch special (half crepe, and either half salad or cup of soup) was the perfect choice. I had gazpacho which was refreshing on hot day, with Crepe Santorini - spinach and feta - delicious. Only four stars because my daughter's Juliette crepe (lemon butter) was a little too buttery - if that is possible. But we enjoyed, service was prompt, waiter kept our water glasses full on this 100 degree day!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SJRJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    67
    18
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“VERY cute and yummy food!”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Very small cafe and very nice interior. We went for brunch and their omlettes were good! The coffee was really weak, too bad about that. Friendly servers!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lizponi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Bit of France in Georgetown”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

This is one of our favorite spots in Georgetown. The place is tiny, with a few tiny tables, but the food is excellent and the staff is very friendly. They offer a good selection of sandwiches, the soup (gaspacho) is excellent, but the best choices are the crepes; if you like Crepe Suzette (with or without Gran Marnier), this is the place!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank copernicus2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Dc
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Give Wednesday Jazz Night a Try”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Just tried out Cafe Bonaparte's Wednesday jazz night and it was very good. Incredible that in this small dining area they still managed to get a jazz trio up in the front corner...drums, keyboard and guitar. I've been here several times and always seem to debate between the crepes and either the moules or steak frites and usually settle on the moules frites in the end...never have been disappointed either. We had a terrific server who took good care of us and was prompt and friendly. Great night! Close your eyes and forget you're actually in Georgetown because it might as well be Paris...

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cabin2125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast!”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We were so happy to discover this little cafe with an incredible menu and moderate prices.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patsy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Bonaparte also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Cafe Bonaparte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing