We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of France in America”
Review of Bistro d'Oc - CLOSED

Bistro d'Oc
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A bit of France in America”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I had a great time in France last summer, so when I ran across this little restaurant, I was optimistic, and they didn't disappoint. Opened with a glass of bubbly, then had the chicken & frites with a sauv blanc, ending with a cappucino. So nostalgic, for $53. Great service, traditional French bistro attitude -- they'll be as friendly as you are.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank misterfisher2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    82
    27
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ken Caryl, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Across from Ford Theatre.....Terrible”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

after a fantastic evening seeing a production at the Ford Theatre, we ventured across the street to this small bistro to have dinner. Good moods we were in, we sat in the front (table 3) and our waiter (Z) could not of been any ruder, short tempered, non-attentive, etc etc etc. The food was dry and lacked tasted. Almost as if it was made for a buffet line that was left over from lunch. It is not an inexpensive restaurant. Go elsewhere.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank joel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Provincial French Restaurant in D.C. at Best Price”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I always eat here when I'm in D.C. My sister lives in Langue d'Oc so I know the cuisine well and this is as authentic as it gets. Wonderful atmosphere, tables spaced widely enough that you can converse without shouting. Sadly, they ran out of the special fish--Dourade, a sea bream from the Mediterranean that you rarely see on these shores--before I could order it. But all of the food is good, and we had a decent bottle of wine for $12. Great pre- and post-theater menu as well (it's right across the street from Ford's Theater).

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StarrBeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suburban Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lived in France - This is the real thing”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

How wonderful to find a bistro that reminds me of our time in France. Not Paris, but SW France where the food is less pretentious. This bistro has a menu + a big board of specials. The wine list includes many reasonably priced and good selections. I had eaten there before and picked it for a family birthday celebration. The teens were happy because it seemed "really French," (and one of the waiters was really cute), the adults were happy with the seating and the wide selection of meat and fish. The grandparents were happy with the noise level (maybe we were the loudest), and the prices. The service was attentive and it was a special evening. Thanks to Benoit who made sure all went well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chezclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
579 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“Excellent southern French cooking”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I've eaten there twice for lunch and it was great. This is a French bistro, but one with southwestern French flavor not Paris--i.e., the area called Languedoc or the department of Aude, close to the Pyrenees. I particularly like the appetizer of lamb brains in garlic and butter--where else in DC can you get that--which appears to stay on the menu? Even the squeamish will enjoy this great flavor. The butternut squash soup with sour cream is another wonderful appetizer. The basic entree menu doesn't change much and is pretty standard, but they bring a big board with the day's specialties that tend to be different--e.g., a mixture of sausages with a sauerkraut that is not strong on the vinegar as you would find in Germanic countries. The wines are good and reasonable by the glass. The dessert menu tends to be more interesting than the board of specials. Great atmosphere of a bistro.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cfuller603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro d'Oc also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing