We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, attentive personnel”
Review of Bistro Francais - CLOSED

Bistro Francais
Price range: $7 - $32
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Wisconsin Ave & 31 Street
Transit: Rosslyn or Foggy Bottom-GWU (Orange, Blue lines)
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food, attentive personnel”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

This place offers calm atmosphere, great variety and quality of food for a decent price, great service and is conveniently located on the most scenic street of Georgetown - M Street. We really enjoyed our experience here.

Helpful?
1 Thank Denis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    85
    44
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
VATravel36
Level Contributor
177 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Very Good Brunch”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is an excellent authentic french bistro with excellent food and above average service. This is not a hoytie toytie high-end restaurant with pretentious atmosphere. It is a true bistro with high-class food.
I highly recommend the Oeufs Bénédictine or Eggs Benedict for all of us that don't remember high school French.
Certainly a place for a repeat brunch and even a late night affair, but other times can be rather hectic with the traffic in Georgetown.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VATravel36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
247 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good lunch spot”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Good food, service, coffee, somewhat French. Nothing to complain about , we would stop by again, just nothing to knock your socks off.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank willbikeforwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Standard~go for the escargot & the fries”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

My friends ended up going to this place because cafe Bonaparte had an hour wait and we were leaving DC that day.We settled for bistro Francais,I was very excited to try their egg Benedict and I was not impressed.I went for egg Norwegian,nothing special,but my friend ordered the escargot,boy it was amazing.The french fries were really good too.I had a Bellini which was good,but would recommend mimosa.The decor is very impressive,luxe...staff were not the friendliest and they made a mess out of card,but it's ok. Honestly I don't think I'd go there anymore since I only want the most amazing food when I travel,but to each their own.It's a little pricey

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Relaxed, good food and service”
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

just had a great evening at this restaurant. service pretty good by mostly knowledgeable staff. good quality international wine list and no problem sending back a bottle I just didn't like. the avocado with crab starter was really good as were the mains of tuna, duck and steak. desserts a bit limited but good coffee and no rush to push us out as we lingered long past 11 pm.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LordH64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Francais also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing